1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coaxial to Phono

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Spazwunkle, Mar 23, 2003.

1. Spazwunkle

Spazwunkle

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Heyhey all

Had the problem for a loooong time but just haven't got round to doing anything about it.

Problem is...

For 5.1 sound, my DVD player only has a coaxial socket and no phono line, while my amp only has a phono line and no coaxial. Meaning an incompatability and being stuck with 2ch sound.

So I'm wondering if there is a seperate decoder box or wire to connect coaxials to phonos?

If so, how much would they cost?

Where would I get them from?

Or would it be easier to get a new amp, with a possible upgrade to DTS (my current amp doesn't house it)?

Trying to work out my best option (bearing in mind I'm a student :)) and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

:)

2. micb3rd

micb3rd

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +67
    Frist what amplifier and other hifi kit do you have?

The coaxial output from a DVD player is a digital output which must be pluged into a coaxial digital IN on a AV Receiver or Processor which is compatable with Dolby Digital and DTS.

To get the full benifit of DVD audio from movies you use the Digital out on the DVD player and you require a AV Receiver/Processor with output to at least 5 speakers and a subwoofer for LFE and bass. (5.1)

The Stereo L/R phono plugs are analoge and pass DVD audio mixed down to 2 channels and have the LFE bass channel thrown away, these are only used if you have a stereo hifi and not a full 5.1 system.

3. Jimmysil

Jimmysil

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Spazwunkle

Just to confirm, when you say phono do you actually mean optical.

Regards

James

4. ditton15

ditton15
    Standard Member

Products Owned: