Co-ax Plate Help needed

jselectrical

Standard Member
I am an Electrician by trade but as part of my work I add aerial points and move Co-ax points. I have recently moved a sat & co-ax point in a living room but have kept the same cabling, albeit shorter run now. When I put a new sat + co-ax plate on the end of the cables I get no signal. If I put a f type connector and joiner on the sat cable I get near full sky signal strength. Does the plate need to be something in particular? I'm using a standard Click mode sat + co-ax plate.

Any help appraciated :smashin:

grahamlthompson

Distinguished Member
Very often one Satellite and Terrestrial signals are diplexed onto a single cable. At the remote end the two sources are split into the two signals in the reverse process. Why can't you use the original plate with the required splitters ?

Rodders53

Distinguished Member
When I put a new sat + co-ax plate on the end of the cables I get no signal. If I put a f type connector and joiner on the sat cable I get near full sky signal strength. Does the plate need to be something in particular? I'm using a standard Click mode sat + co-ax plate.

Any help appraciated :smashin:

Two possibles spring to my mind:
1) faulty wiring or installation - you've shorted inner to outer when connecting up or one occurs via the back box when screwed in

2) the plate is dc isolating the satellite feed - either due to a faulty plate or by connecting up to the wrong outlet socket

NB Unless the original feed is from an diplexed satellite and UHF TV distribution system the use of a splitter plate, if that's what you've installed, with the attendant losses of the filters, will reduce the signal available anyway.

Have you got one cable or two going to the plate? Has it got one or two cable connections on the 'install' side (we know it has two on the user side)?

Boostrail

Distinguished Member