1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Clueless in Glasgow

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by old-Bill, Aug 7, 2004.

1. old-Bill

old-Bill
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    I am completely new to the AV scene and getting on a bit in years but I thought I would give it a go!

After reading through your forums I decided to purchase a Pioneer DV-575A DVD player and A Toshiba 36ZP48 television, I also purchased component video leads so that I could use Progressive Scan.
    When I connect up with these leads my video "Donny Darko" does not play!
    If I connect a Scart lead it does play!
    I am clueless as to how all this works, could someone please, please help out, I even took my DVD player to Curries but they could not make it start on Progressive Scan, I am at a total loss as I dont really understand what I am doing.
    Do you have to have a Progressive Scan compatible DVD as the Salesman in Curries told me?

Please help.

Bill :rolleyes:

2. hornydragon

hornydragon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    connect DVD via scart and go into menu and select YPbPr as out put, also go into TV menu and set the component input to YPbPr may be labelled YUV.

3. old-Bill

old-Bill
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your prompt reply Hornydragon, I will give it a go.
    I could not sleep last night worrying that I had mucked something up.

I will let you know how I get on. :)

Bill

4. old-Bill

old-Bill
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hornydragon, Could you bear with me on this;
    From the TV. menu I selected: Picture - Scan mode - at this point my options become, Progress., Natural, Active and 100Hz. Which one do I choose?