Clocks change foil the 8000t

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by Crispin, Oct 30, 2005.

Tags:
  1. Crispin

    Crispin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    This morning I observed that my Panasonic VCR had automatically changed its internal clock back for me (as usual), but the Humax 8000t had not - and therefore my 4.30am timed recording of 'Click Online' (don't laugh) missed the mark.

    Surely this should have been bread'n'butter stuff for the Humax?
    (Also, there doesn't seem to be a simple time-set facility on the 8000t - I had to toggle the GMT setting, which caused the time to be reset correctly.)

    Strange!
     
  2. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,821
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    Same here... I am sure it worked last year :(
     
  3. jetsetjimbo

    jetsetjimbo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    724
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Mine has failed to change also.

    Has anyones actually changed as it should have?
     
  4. David Robinson

    David Robinson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    Another Humax cockup. :rolleyes: The only way I can find to fix it, is to change the time setting to GMT+0 instead of Auto.

    Also be aware, any scheduled recordings set up before the change, to be recorded after the change, will need to be redone as they will be an hour out. :mad:
     
  5. spl23

    spl23
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,669
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +385
    The new 9200T has exactly the same problem - the only way I've managed to get the clock correct is to manually set the GMT offset to zero - Auto still adds an hour for BST. I guess it could be the broadcast signal though - maybe they haven't turned the BST flag off yet?

    When the clocks went forward earlier this year, I had my 8000T set to make a recording that went across midnight / 1am - I came home next day to find that the box was still recording, not having seen the stop time when the clock jumped an hour...
     
  6. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,840
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,067
    Don't blame Humax. The BBC had not (as of about 30 minutes ago) put its teletext clock right. That's both analog text AND Freeview text.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,013
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +63
    my FVRT200 also failed to change - my DVD recorder ES20 also failed - but my video changed OK.
    so maybe a digital tuner clock thing - although the ES20 has analogue tuner too.
     
  8. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,840
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,067
    It must depend on exactly where the time is obtained. My Pioneer DVD-HDD machine (analog tuner only) did not change, until I told it to stop looking at BBC1 and look instead at "five". My ancient ex-OnDigital STB changed when I turned it on (normal behaviour). My Pace Twin, likewise. Humax 8000 - no joy.

    On teletext services (both analog and digital), BBC were showing the time incorrectly as of 8:30ish this morning.
     
  9. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,028
    when does this normally update? If the freeview EPG data changes, will the timer on my (dads) new FVRT200 change straight away? Or will it be tomorrow now?

    As of this moment, the now and next has the right programs finally, but the clocks are still out.
     
  10. kbfern

    kbfern
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    17,262
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +5,340
    Both my 8000T & 9200T failed to update time,but my Bug Dab radio did.
     
  11. ROYOLD

    ROYOLD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Royton, Oldham. Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +297
    Mine are also out on the FVRT150, E85, ES20D, and probably all the others because they are still switched off at mains. Just switched the first three on. Progs on FVRT150 are showing one hour ahead.
    For the updates on Channel 300 to occur this programme MUST be in your "favourites". Easiest way is to select favs from menu and then select "all" - think its the green button - this will tick all the channels in one go.

    Changes are downloaded at 3 a.m. and the Digifusion must be left in standby. Probably be tomorrow now I should think.
     
  12. domtheone

    domtheone
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    13,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    I too taped something in the wee hours of this morning.

    I wasn't sure how my Humax 8000 would react to the time difference so I just went for overkill and recorded an hour and a hlaf either side :D


    Same here.
     
  13. ROYOLD

    ROYOLD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Royton, Oldham. Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +297
    Time in this forum hasn't changed either - still on BST.
     
  14. JH4

    JH4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,310
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +225
    See the post in the DVD recorders forum. It's the BBC prob.
     
  15. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,566
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,458
    Yes I just come on to ask if anyone was having trouble with the VCR I know my parent (Panasonic same make as mine), a friends and mine have not updated.

    With regards the BBC I often look for the latest weather focast on Teletext on Saturday morning and it still has Fridays as the main page. :thumbsdow
     
  16. Ikki

    Ikki
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,173
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Location:
    Lancs
    Ratings:
    +97
    I ended up switching my 8000t off and on again at the mains, that seemed to sort it.

    I had a really weird recording experience last night. I set it to record Enterprise, The Simpsons and Scrapheap challenge off CH4 one after the other. It recorded enterprise for 116 min instead of 60, but also shows a recording of the Simpsons took place while it was doing the enterprise recording and the scrappy challenge recording at the end of these two is only 3 mins long.

    I've not seen anything like this before, perhaps it was a result of the epg being out of sync.
     

Share This Page

Loading...