Classé vs Rotel

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by MikeFinn, May 12, 2018.

Tags:
  1. MikeFinn

MikeFinn
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hello,

I have some questions about Classé, especially their 2200i. I hope that you can help me.

At first I looked at the Rotel RA-1592, but the dealer closest to me also has Classé. It is almoust double in price, so how much extra do I get? I am not a great expert, so I was thinking I might not hear a difference at all.

Are there any Classé owners here? What do you think about combining the 2200i with B&W 702 S2 and Marantz ND8006? Not sure about cables, perhaps Nordost's Red Dawn or Kimber Kable 8TC.

Someone wrote online that you should not use an RCA cable to connect a player, so what should I use instead?

2. gibbsy

gibbsy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6,714
    Can't comment on the difference between the Classe and the Rotel, both are very good amps. Both the units have DACs and the Marantz can be connected to both either by digital or RCA. As the Marantz has it's own DAC it really depends on which DAC does the best job. If you prefer the Marantz then connect to the amp by RCA. If, on the other hand you prefer the sound of the DAC on either of the amps then connect the Marantz by digital as the ND8006 will give you the ability to use either out.

Is there any reason why you want an amp with it's own DAC?

3. MikeFinn

MikeFinn
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    No special reason. Also, I was told that Classé has no DAC because they don't need one.

So if I use let's say an HDMI cable, the RA-1592s DAC will work instead of Marantz's? Rotel of course has their own player, could use that one.

4. gibbsy

gibbsy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6,714