1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cinemax cable and HDMI

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Hackers, Jan 3, 2005.

  1. Hackers

    Hackers
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please accept my appologies for what might be a naive question.

    Having recently refurbuished my house I was advised to lay in Cinemax cable, both for a planned plasma TV, and a video projector. The idea is to have all the source equipment (tuner/Sky+, DVD, etc) in one room, so the cabling runs back to there. The rooms are also wired (speaker cable and CAT 5e) for speakers (5.1 with the video projector) and a control system.

    All the hardware, particularly the plasma and video projector, has yet to be purchased (waiting for the January sales etc.) but, having discovered kit which now comes equpped with HDMI interfaces (e.g. Pioneer PDP-435HDE) I'm presuming the Cinemax cable can't be wired with HDMI plugs?

    I'm presuming Cinemax can only be used with component video, or possibly SCART interfaces? It's too late to lay in any other form of cable, so I want to try and make the best of what I've got. What's the best that Cinemax can be used for?
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    is it 5 core or 3 core cinemax if 5 core you can RGBHV from Scaler ouputs.... or use it for component + S-video cannot use cinnemax for HDMI, HDMI is of limited use at the moment higher DVD players only but will become more useful in the future (HDTV etc) cat 5 may prove very useful tho............
     
  3. Hackers

    Hackers
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Horneydragon, it's 5 core. What does the HV stand for in RGBHV? Thanks for your help so far.
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    H= horizontal sync V= vertical sync can i ask who installed/reconmended this cable to you?
     
  5. Hackers

    Hackers
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    WEll i have reconmended CX5CVto a few people (wasnt me so I'm off the hook) but have been advising then to run a few more cables as well were possible (they often choose not to due to cost) but i always reconmend a run of CAT5 with CX5CV for data and control as the included twisted pair can be used (tho not ideal) for sync so you can run RGBHV + S-video or composite
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    having seen there "actual installs" i am not very impressed is this for a property in algeria or KENT?
     

Share This Page

Loading...