Cinematrix PSM-1 Review

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Boris Blank, Jan 4, 2002.

1. Boris Blank

Boris Blank

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +215
    I'm no expert and I'll call it as I see it. So on with the review;

What is it?
    The PSM-1 video scaler is a module that is inserted into certain types of DVD player to capture the players display signal straight off the MPEG board and upscale it to pre-set (but user selectable) resolutions that are then output through RGB(HV) BNC (or phono if required) connectors on the back of the DVD player. A small "dongle" type switch is also installed at the rear of the player to select the various pre-set resolutions (basically line-doubled, tripled, quadrupled) or custom resolutions can be made if requested (there is also a specific resolution for Sony VW-10/11HT users). The upscaled RGB signal (progressive for both PAL and NTSC) is output via the BNC connectors to your projector. The functions of the existing scart, component, s-video, etc, connectors remain the same.

How is it Installed?
    The installation requires that the DVD player be sent to an authorised installer who will insert the module, make the necessary modifications to the player, test it and return it. Expect turnaround time to be about 2 to 3 weeks (its a major job).

How does it work?