1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cinemateq Scalers

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by AMCross, Jan 22, 2005.

  1. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,658
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +187
  2. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    AMCross

    Never seen them but they've had good magazine reviews, so they must be good.. :rotfl:
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  4. jolaca

    jolaca
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am also interested. I woulld like to know its performance against the latest scalers from Lumagen and DVDO as these are americans and I do not know if they are optimised for PAL.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  5. jolaca

    jolaca
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any idea, anyone??
     
  6. Nocko!

    Nocko!
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bought a used Cinemateq Picture Optimizer plus two days ago. I think it will take two weeks until I get the machine in my hands and then another week to test it. If I don't forget, I will post my experiences. Or I will watch all my DVDs again...

    By the way - Greetings and thanks to Miron: I've got "my" upgrade to SW 3.80 with the help of another friendly Tag owner.
     
  7. Miron

    Miron
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +50
    sometimes waiting pays itself off!

    now we will have to wait on your cinemateq report :)
     
  8. AsM0DeUz

    AsM0DeUz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I own a Cinemateq Picture Optimizer Plus SDI, i use with a Pana RA71 SDI modified and a BarcoG 808 :) .

    The picture is really impressive ... but the remote control not really user friendly :(
     
  9. Nocko!

    Nocko!
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, took a little bit longer, but here I am back again from watching...
    I am using the Cinemateq Optimizer Plus (not II) with a Optma EzPro 758 "business" beamer. The Scaler was bought used and has no SDI Input. It is connectet to my old Sony DVD with YUV. I use a no name motorized screen with a gain about 1.2 - the beamer's light output is more than enough. I use it in ecomode with brightness and contrast set to around 20 from 100.
    At first the Cinemateq was connected to my beamer with an midprize Oehlbach VGA-cable with a length of ten meters. The results in comparison to my former scaler (Focus Enhancement Quad Scan Elite or something comparable to this one) were quite good: A more stable picture with richer colors and less flickering. But it was'nt the progress I hoped the Cinemateq would bring. Most of the time the Cinemateq was used in 720p mode. I know, that was not mathematically correct for my display but the results were better than in XGA mode. There were no smooth movings with computer related resolutions - probably a problem between beamer and scaler.
    Most benefits were found in convenience aspects: The Cinemateq has no fan. The Focus was louder than my beamer...
    And the Focus tended to loose some settings sometimes. I don't think that it was faulty, but the machine seemed to work at the border of it's capability. Perhaps it was simply to old. The Cinemateq has an awful lot of features I didn't know from the Focus or my former Iscan Pro. You can find them on Cinemateqs HP - so I hope I don't have to list them up here. All of this features do really work and make sense. And not all features are for convenience: The input dependant Gamma setting really helps to get a impressive picture.
    After a week I got an no-name DVI-D cable. The adventure began again. The Cinemateq only supports DVI-D, so I could'nt compare the cables but that's not the question here. With output set to DVI I could'nt use the 720p resolution anymore. The picture was really good, but there were big waving green shadows around it and sometimes it was gone for a few seconds. And there were the known flashing pixels...
    So it was time to get really deep down into the menus. I tried several resolutions and (in my poor mathematically trained brain) found 1024x576 (PAL) was perfect for movies. The result is really great. Last night (after I updated to SW 4.00) I watched a few scenes from my DVD collection. "Face/off" was -considering the DVD quality- perfect. A little bit to much contrast or artificial sharpness but I think that's the DVD. "Star Trek - Insurrection" really looked like a movie - not like an digital generated and transported lot of pictures. Non anamorph sources, especially letterbox from digital TV was really good too. All digital artefacts I could see were not caused by the scaler or beamer for they were also found on my TV.
    At last I think I reached reference level with "Nemo". Absolutely great. I can't think of a parameter or aspect I could increase by using another scaler. I must admit that I didn't compared the Cinemateq to other new scalers like the Iscan HD. But I can hardly imagine that these devices are really better.
    To get back to the Tag McLaren topic: Just for the look of it, I put the Cinemateq on my AVR. They don't really match. But who would do this to these machines ? If you put them together in a rack, from a few feet away they really look like relatives. On a closer look you can see that the Tag is not as black as the Cinemateq and that the Tag is a little bit better finished. It's a shame, that my Cinemateq has a green display but those who are interested in this scaler can buy the plus II version with black kit and blue display...
    Altogether I always would recommend the Cinemateq especially in connection with a not "home cinema" specialised beamer. AsM0DeUz is right with his post about the remote control. But I fortunately use a Pronto, so I didn't encountered this problem. Any questions left ?!
     

Share This Page

Loading...