Cigarette lighter mains adapter

Westindieman

Ive bought one of these but it doesnt give enough power to my Ring RAC635 tyre inflater to work (or it could be faulty) though it does power on. Its prolly not meant to power some things but I'm not an electrician. Just would like to help to know what I need to look for to make sure I get at least the same power as my car lighter from the adapter.

Last edited:

IronGiant

You need to get something that can put out at least as much amperage/wattage as your inflator requires. 6W could just about do one interior courtesy light.

Your inflator needs 120W which is equivalent to 10A.

This might just do it :

Amazon product

Last edited:

Westindieman

You need to get something that can put out at least as much amperage/wattage as your inflator requires. 6W could just about do one interior courtesy light.

Your inflator needs 120W which is equivalent to 10A.

This might just do it :

Amazon product

Hey, I'm really greatful for your knowledge. I was looking at the inflator specs but couldnt see anything about wattage so thought as it was 12v it would be OK. Many thanks

John7

No, it’s the Amp‘s that do the work. Your mains adapter can only supply 600mA (0.6 Amps). You need at least 10 Amps as IronGiant says. I use a portable car starter/power bank to run my tyre inflator.

Westindieman

No, it’s the Amp‘s that do the work. Your mains adapter can only supply 600mA (0.6 Amps). You need at least 10 Amps as IronGiant says. I use a portable car starter/power bank to run my tyre inflator.

How do you find those starters for starting when battery has died? I considered buying one instead of the jump leads a few years back when I had a car that kept having starting issues when it got cold. I read mixed reviews though.

John7