CHT-10 - a newbie needs help!

jonhead34

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hello all

I'm very enthusiastic about Home Cinema, but a complete newbie. Considering the company on this forum and the standard of the other posts, I'm almost embarrassed to post my newbie questions, but I guess you have to learn somewhere, so here goes!

Today my new Velodyne CHT-10 arrived. I purchased it following advice on here. It completely looks the business and I can't wait to start using it...but I don't even know how to connect it up, so I've come here to plead your help!!

My old sub was cheap Hitachi that came as part of an all-in-one. It was simply connected from a single "Subwoofer out" phono socket on the amp to a single phono "audio in" socket on the sub - and that's about as far as my experience with subs goes!

With my CHT-10, I'm now faced with various connection possibilities, but don't have the knowledge to know which I should use. The manual talks about the line-level and speaker-level inputs and high pass and low pass crossover, but I have to admit this means very little to me. I feel the manual skims over the details assuming expert knowledge (which, in fairness, most purchasers probably have!), but it doesn't go nearly close enough top my "dummy" level of understanding, so I'm a bit bewildered!

The amp I'm using is a Sony STRDE697, which unlike the sub is pretty is fairly low-end. My satellite speakers are wired directly from the amp and there is a single "Subwoofer out" phono socket. My question is what do I do next to get my sub working? I'd be very grateful to hear and advice and any recommended texts that would be good for a newbie like me to improve my level of understanding in subwoofer (and all home cinema) technology.

Apologies for posting such a basic post. Thank you very much for reading my post, and to anyone who may be so kind as reply.

Cheers

Jon

Hi again all