Chord vs. Bettercables HDMI cable ?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by roydonaldson, Mar 26, 2006.

  1. roydonaldson

    roydonaldson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi there,

    Just about to buy a 8M HDMI cable to run under my floor. I can see that I can get a Chord Company vs. a BetterCables cable for nearly the same money.

    I'm not too sure which to go for, anyone tried the two at all ?

    Thanks,
    Roy.
     
  2. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    No brainer, Bettercables
     
  3. Mark Grant

    Mark Grant
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    East Yorkshire, England
    Ratings:
    +171
    Hello Roy,

    I have never tried the Chord, so cannot really comment on a direct comparison.

    Choice depends on the resolution you need now or in the future really.

    The Bettercables HDMI are my favourite as I know they really do work at 1080P at all lengths manufactured. ( I sell them because they work as advertised - unlike some other HDMI cables that go all sparkly at long lengths..)

    You might not need 1080P today, but if the cable is going under the floor and would be difficult to change in a year or two, and the two cables are similar price, I know which one I would use.

    Chord dont even bother to mention the resolutions supported, 'Silver-plated oxygen free copper conductors' appears to be the main feature, and it gets a 'What Hi-Fi best digital video cable award 2004', even though there is no mention of resolutions supported :rolleyes: ............

    http://www.chord.co.uk/chordweb/hdmi.htm

    I dont see any technical reason for Chord not to bandwidth test their HDMI cables, it's not difficult :)

    -

    edited to add, UK bettercables distributor is Joe, here: http://www.tmfsolutions.co.uk/home.htm

    and a google search lists a few UK dealers and forum links etc:
    http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&q=bettercables+hdmi&meta=cr=countryUK|countryGB


    Mark.
     
  4. 12 promises

    12 promises
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,555
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    dunfermline
    Ratings:
    +119
    Absolutely Right!!
    I Just Bought One From You (mark) And It Replaced A Chord Which Was 1 Mtr Long And Produced Red Spotting And Sparklies Like Crazy.
    No Such Problem Now With The Better Cables One.
    MINE IS HDMI TO DVI
     
  5. arfster

    arfster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +132
    It'd have to be a stunningly bad piece of manufacturing to produce sparklies over 1 metre. Given you can purchase 3 metre cables off ebuyer for £4 that perform identically to £150 cables, there's no excuse. Maybe at 10+ metres, but not on short lengths.
     
  6. roydonaldson

    roydonaldson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ok, decision made now.

    Roy.
     
  7. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    Chord?
     
  8. roydonaldson

    roydonaldson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    Bettercables is in the post to me this afternoon.
     
  9. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,517
    Hello all

    The Display Magic cables work well with the NAIM DVD5 - they have been tested down at the NAIM factory and got good feedback from the design team.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  10. roydonaldson

    roydonaldson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    Joe,

    Interesting. Perhaps worth mentioning on your website.

    I've bought a HDMI to HDMI cable as you never know what it'll be being used with in future, especially as it's going under the floor. I'll use a spare Chors DVI to HDMI convertor to connect it up to my DVD5.

    Roy.
     
  11. roydonaldson

    roydonaldson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    Joe / Mark,

    I've got the cable now and just using i direct to test it out.

    One comment I'd make on it is that the connector/boots on the end for my LCD make it very deep for fitting, I can barely get the LCD back on with the HDMI connector in.

    What would you suggest on this end ??

    Thanks,
    Roy.
     
  12. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,517
    Hello roydonaldson

    I take it you mean the connector is keeping your screen away from the wall behind it?

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  13. roydonaldson

    roydonaldson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi Joe,

    I have my LCD on a stand. I take the back panel off to get at the connectors, insert the HDMI cable, which fits in horizontally. When I go to click the back panel back on, I need to bend the plastic on it to get it to click back in place, due to the size of the boots on the cable not letting me bend the cable down vertically at a sharp enough angle.

    I can easily take digital pictures of this.

    Roy.
     
  14. Mark Grant

    Mark Grant
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    East Yorkshire, England
    Ratings:
    +171
    Hello Roy,

    A picture would be good, to see how tight this is.

    Bending HDMI cables at sharp angles is never a good thing really,

    Mark.
     
  15. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,517
    Hello Roy

    These 'cable tidy' solutions are always a pain - a few of the projector manufacturers do something similar and again out restrictions on what cables you can and cant use with the 'tidy box' in place.

    As Mark says its best not to 'bend' the HDMI cable too much - undue stress on the HDMI socket, cable head and even bouncing the signal around inside too tight a radius are all negatives.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  16. Scott_Mac

    Scott_Mac
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    6,168
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bromsgrove
    Ratings:
    +651
    A bit of a concern for me on this as i have just bought a Sharp LC32P50E and a Toshiba SD-350E... obviously it makes sense to use HDMI but how good do i realistically need... technically the TV isn't HDMI compliant but the whole upscaling algorithm seems to be much less complicated to me!

    So do i go Molex (assume as it's on Marks website it's pretty good) or do i need better?? I am assuming that given i have mid range equipment i don't need top range cables?? Well put it this way it's those or something from QED, IXOS et al.. and i assume Molex are better!
     
  17. roydonaldson

    roydonaldson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    Mark, Joe,

    I have emailed pictures of the cable fitment to Mark (as I have your direct email address). Mark, I'm assuming you could forward these onto Joe ?

    Roy.
     
  18. Pat Marcus

    Pat Marcus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Ibstock
    Ratings:
    +8
    The Chord cable is a decent one ( I use it with no sparklies or other artefacts visible) and I have compared it to similarly priced models from Wireworld and Nordost. I couldnt tell any difference and I LOVE doing cable tests. That said, Im always up for improvements in PQ so if everyone reckons bettercables are the Don, I might just have a go.
    Im also intrigued to try a really expensive HDMI cable ? Has anyone ? I think Audioquest do one at about £300 per metre.
    I look forward to the barrage of ridicule.
     
  19. Lakes_Puma

    Lakes_Puma
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Messages:
    372
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    Thought I should post my 2 peneth worth, I purchased a 10m Chord HDMI cable to connect my 3910 to my HD72i and couldn't get any picture at all, I tested the setup with a 1m cable and that worked fine so I thought it was a problem with the cable but when I returned to the shop where I purchased it from we tested the cable on a different DVD player and display device and it all worked perfectly.

    It them became apparent that the HDMI standard isn't particularly well defined with no definitive cable lengths specified so some manufacturers won't guarantee devices working with cables over 5m in length.

    I decided to try a 8m HDMI BetterCables from Joe and not only was the service I received excellent but the cable worked first time with every output from 576p to 1080i, no sparklies or anomalies at all.

    Now I don't want to say that there was anything wrong with the Chord as I did see it working on a different device the problem really lies with the HDMI standard (or lack of it!)
     
  20. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,517
    Good feedback Lakes-Puma

    As you say with some cables you can get a very different result depending on the system and the configuration of the Source and Display kit.

    The BetterCables Display Magic cables have time and again proven to be the most reliable cable across a wide range of systems and signal types.

    With long HDMI and DVI cables you always need to test the system before you go with a final install - no matter what cable you purchase.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  21. roydonaldson

    roydonaldson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    Joe,

    Would I cause any problems to my cable by cutting about 1/3 of the boot off of the end of the cable as it goes into the LCD display ?

    I'm thinking this will lessen the bend of the angle in the cable.

    Roy
     
  22. Timbo21

    Timbo21
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,682
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +332
    Definitely not! The HDMI connector is not a robust connection. Where the cable meets the plug is a weak point. It's under enough stress with just the weight of the cable, let alone hacking at the boot of it :eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...