Chord Electronics Qutest DAC Review & Comments

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by Phil Hinton, Jul 26, 2018.


    1. Ed Selley

      Ed Selley
      AVF Reviewer

      Joined:
      Jun 26, 2003
      Messages:
      11,238
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      2
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +3,748
      • Like Like x 1
      • Thanks Thanks x 1
      • List
    2. Nelly

      Nelly
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Dec 27, 2008
      Messages:
      59
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      Farnborough
      Ratings:
      +5
      I think Ed needs a new camera - pics in the last 3 reviews are all washed out with a blue hue
       
    3. Ed Selley

      Ed Selley
      AVF Reviewer

      Joined:
      Jun 26, 2003
      Messages:
      11,238
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      2
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +3,748
      I did all the photography on the same day and it does indeed suggest that the white balance was off somewhere. I've recalibrated it and the screen I edit on and will be doing the next batch shortly- fingers crossed!
       
    4. gadget man

      gadget man
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 17, 2010
      Messages:
      208
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      28
      Ratings:
      +64
      Nice review i only have an Arcam A19 with KEF LS50 Speakers and the Arcam irdacII. So my question would i hear a difference replacing the Arcam DAC with Chord?

      I know i need to hear for myself.
       
    5. vkvedam

      vkvedam
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Dec 26, 2007
      Messages:
      86
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      Coventry
      Ratings:
      +11
      You definitely will! I used to have an rDAC and Mojo was a revelation to my ears. I have a similar setup to yours with LS50s and a Marantz. I would have liked the Qutest to be able to stream, that would have been ideal for me.
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Useful Useful x 1
      • List
    6. BigAl217

      BigAl217
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 4, 2004
      Messages:
      237
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Ratings:
      +18
      Hi Ed, Thanks for the review.
      Did you ever review the 2Qute DAC and is this a good step up in performance.
      You can still pick up the 2Qute for £500 less than the Qutest from some sellers and was wondering if the Qutest is worth the extra, subjective I know but thought I'd ask.

      Thanks
       
    7. gadget man

      gadget man
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 17, 2010
      Messages:
      208
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      28
      Ratings:
      +64
      Thanks for reply maybe time to start saving up.
       
    8. camelot1971

      camelot1971
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Sep 8, 2011
      Messages:
      2,639
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      137
      Location:
      Somewhere
      Ratings:
      +933
      I have owned the 2Qute and now have a Qutest. The difference is significant but whether it's worth £500 or not is very subjective. I think it is.
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Thanks Thanks x 1
      • List
    9. RichardG

      RichardG
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 28, 2003
      Messages:
      209
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      28
      Location:
      Cardiff, UK
      Ratings:
      +27
      Interesting. I've also got a 2qute, having tested it over a weekend with the Arcam and Rega equivalents, and there was no comparison. I preferred the 2qute in every department...and I've previously disliked almost every piece of Chord kit I've heard. It's the only piece of Chord kit I own, but I don't think anyone is near them in the DAC arena.

      I didn't have any intention of moving on from the 2qute, but I do like the sound of Chord's Hugo M Scaler, which is compatible with the Qutest, but not the 2qute (needs 2 BNC connectors?). I might try a Qutest and look for a part ex upgrade in anticipation of a possible M Scaler investment.
       
    10. dannnielll

      dannnielll
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Sep 16, 2017
      Messages:
      1,446
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      113
      Location:
      ireland
      Ratings:
      +572
      Compatible??. My reading is that all three devices do the same function..take a digital bit stream and convert it into analogue, but at different price points and fidelity. .. if you had an M the other devices would be redundant.
       
    11. BigAl217

      BigAl217
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 4, 2004
      Messages:
      237
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Ratings:
      +18
      As i understand it the M is just a scaler and has no DAC capability. The Hugo TT2, Hugo 2 and Qutest will all upscale the resolution anyway but cant get your networked stored files to the lofty heights of 705Khz / 768Khz without the M Scaler or Blu Transport.

      The M Scaler is like the Blu Transport but without the physical media option as i understand it, so a DAC will still be required.
       
    12. Jefke13

      Jefke13
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Feb 6, 2017
      Messages:
      30
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      Belgium
      Ratings:
      +7
      indeed no dac in the mscaler, will be all over the place in the next few months, very interesting indeed
       
    13. BigAl217

      BigAl217
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 4, 2004
      Messages:
      237
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Ratings:
      +18
      I used to own the original Blu and DAC64 mkii, and do miss it, unfortunately due to financial circumstances at the time had to move it on.
      As most of my music is now ripped to HDD and the convenience that brings I would give the MScaler serious consideration if initial owner reviews are favourable and the initial release isn’t reported as buggy.

      Question of the moment on most new kit, Roon Ready on release?
       
    14. Ed Selley

      Ed Selley
      AVF Reviewer

      Joined:
      Jun 26, 2003
      Messages:
      11,238
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      2
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +3,748
      If you tell a Roon Nucleus it's a Hugo2 it works perfectly. I think it'll get a dedicated profile in due course.
       
    15. gadget man

      gadget man
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 17, 2010
      Messages:
      208
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      28
      Ratings:
      +64
      ordered will be arriving Monday, i need to be blown away for £1200 most expensive piece of audio equipment i ever bought.

      Currently using an arcam irdac will be very unlikely i will hear the difference i am not an audio nerd head.

      Hoping to be proved wrong i will report back here next week.
       
    16. waspy

      waspy
      Active Member

      Joined:
      May 18, 2009
      Messages:
      104
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      21
      Location:
      Manchester
      Ratings:
      +13
      I changed from a Chord Mojo, and the difference is quite stark. This is one of my beloved audio equipment pieces, drop in some Agnes Obel for a revealing session of tonality and 3d soundscape. I love it!
       
    17. camelot1971

      camelot1971
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Sep 8, 2011
      Messages:
      2,639
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      137
      Location:
      Somewhere
      Ratings:
      +933
      I will be shocked if you can't hear an obvious, better difference.
       
    18. blue max

      blue max
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Apr 12, 2006
      Messages:
      12,838
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +4,222
      Just listening to your suggestion of Agnes Obel and love it!
      Listening on a Yamaha WXC-50 and ancient and battered active Wharfedales plonked on a window ledge and it sounds amazing. Total investment £170. Now, whether to invest in this DAC?

      Rhetorical question I know.

      I'm not completely understanding what this actually is. I mean, obviously it's essentially a circuit board, but why can't, or hasn't it been reverse engineered and duplicated in China and flooded Ebay?

      Is it a matter of time until the rest of the industry catches up, or is there something unique to Chord that gives them a competitive advantage?

      I genuinely am interested in the answers.
       
    19. muljao

      muljao
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jan 24, 2017
      Messages:
      1,512
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      Ireland
      Ratings:
      +539
      I'd imagine it's not duplicated because the internal parts are not ones that are readily available off the shelf, plus the casings are milled afaik. It probably be to expensive to copy and make a profit
       
    20. blue max

      blue max
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Apr 12, 2006
      Messages:
      12,838
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +4,222
      I wasn't really thinking of a clone, but more just using the tech. Obviously, if it sounded similar, but cost a tenth of the price, it probably could come in a shoe box!

      Just musing on how they have such an advantage for so long. Usually there is only a small window before the competition catches up, by fair means or foul.
       
    21. Ed Selley

      Ed Selley
      AVF Reviewer

      Joined:
      Jun 26, 2003
      Messages:
      11,238
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      2
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +3,748
      Unlike almost any other DAC on sale, Chord units don't use a pre existing DAC chip. Instead they use a Xilinx Field Programmable Gate Array. A competitor can buy one of these to 'copy' but without the code- developed over the preceding twenty years buy a chap called Rob Watts- it won't do anything (and I mean nothing- the 'Field Programmable' bit means that it's essentially dumb until you tell it what to do). The code is the bit that gives the USP.

      As to extracting the code from a Qutest to copy- good luck.
       
    22. blue max

      blue max
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Apr 12, 2006
      Messages:
      12,838
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +4,222
      Thank you. I wasn't intending to try! :)

      But gives an insight into where the value is.
       
    23. dannnielll

      dannnielll
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Sep 16, 2017
      Messages:
      1,446
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      113
      Location:
      ireland
      Ratings:
      +572
      .. A field programmable array is one of those odd concepts that is really brilliant. It consists of a sea ..or better ocean of logic gates all working, all disconnected built on a a slip of silicon. Each logic function is disconnected, but can be connected to others if a conductive path is made. A programme identifying the interconnections to be made sits in Memory device ..ROM adjacent.
      When the unit is switched off all the logic gates are disconnected. When power is applied, a small weak microprocessor reads the contents of the ROM and slowly makes the the interconnects. When it has finished, the microprocessor says I'm done, and takes no further part. It passes control over to the PGLA ,which then behaves like a customized integrated circuit.
      By changing the wiring diagram..(the ROM program) the chip can serve any different function.
      Obviously the manufacturers of the chips, have made it rather difficult for third parties to read the ROM contents.. Difficult is not the same as impossible, .. the Enigma code was cracked, so sooner or later copyright infringement clones will appear.
      Why bother with a FPGA and just use a microprocessor??. Well it will complete logic operations thousands of times faster.
      .
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Thanks Thanks x 1
      • List
    24. blue max

      blue max
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Apr 12, 2006
      Messages:
      12,838
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +4,222
      Amazing info! Thanks for posting.
       
    25. Cathode

      Cathode
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      May 20, 2017
      Messages:
      4
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      6
      Location:
      Edinburgh
      Ratings:
      +2
      This is slightly off topic but follows on from your comments about poorer recordings.

      I have auditioned the Chord Dave and have heard the current DCS dacs at shows. The impression I get is that while they play excellent recordings superbly, listening to less perfectly recorded performances is likely to be less enjoyable than with more ordinary devices. (I would need to spend more time to be certain of this.)

      Is it generally the case that the better the reproduction of the best, the poorer the listening experience in relation to more ordinary recordings?

      This does not seem to be the case with vinyl.
       
    26. redknag

      redknag
      Active Member

      Joined:
      May 18, 2004
      Messages:
      307
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      28
      Location:
      Wickford Essex
      Ratings:
      +33
      Looking forward to your review as I have an Arcam rLink and have £1200 burning a hole in my pocket. Hope you hear a difference :)
       
    27. gadget man

      gadget man
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 17, 2010
      Messages:
      208
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      28
      Ratings:
      +64
      Only played a few albums but my initial thoughts are yes it is slightly better than the Arcam. Vocals seem to have a more nuance and hearing detail in songs not heard before,the bass is tighter and cymbals seem to shimmer seconds longer.

      Now i am not going to become popular here but i do not fall for marketing BS or glowing reviews (UK company i think a little bias here). is this worth 3x the cost of the Arcam? NO WAY i am deciding on returning but will give it another week of listening. It's the value i have an issue with at £500 yes would be a great buy but when you can buy an LG 4k TV B7 for £1300, where i can visually see a huge difference over my plasma among everything else. The cost vs performance is not good enough for me. Sorry
       
    28. Lord Essex

      Lord Essex
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Aug 22, 2010
      Messages:
      1,178
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      51
      Location:
      colchester
      Ratings:
      +79
      I think the Qutest is massive overkill to use with an Arcam A19 which simply does not have the performance level to show off what the chord is capable of. I think a mojo would be a better fit for the Arcam or pick up a 2 qute which will still provide you with plenty of performance headroom for when you upgrade the rest of your kit.
       
      Last edited: Jul 31, 2018
    29. redknag

      redknag
      Active Member

      Joined:
      May 18, 2004
      Messages:
      307
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      28
      Location:
      Wickford Essex
      Ratings:
      +33
      I've got an A49 and Blade 2's, so might give it a try. Currently my Arcam rLink doesn't sound as good as the Arcam CD37 I've got. If the Qutest can match or hopefully better that I would be very happy, and would hardly ever have to get up again. :)
       
    30. Lord Essex

      Lord Essex
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Aug 22, 2010
      Messages:
      1,178
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      51
      Location:
      colchester
      Ratings:
      +79
      I think you’re going to be very happy
       

    Share This Page

    Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice