1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Choosing the right speaker setup

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by muppet9, Nov 22, 2001.

1. muppet9

muppet9
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys,

Im pretty new to this so bear with me ;)

I am looking at getting a Denon 2802 and a new dvd player (not decided yet, suggestions welcome) and i would like to know what the best speakers would be, i have been looking at the KEF Cresta's which seem to have had good reviews, or the Mordaunt-Short package available from Richers.

If you've got any better recommendations on an amp, please let me know also. :)

Thanks alot

muppet9

2. Jase

Jase

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +829
    Hi

Nothing wrong with the Denon 2802, but if you could stretch to the 3802 you´ll get better musicality and a few more features. They can be had for around 600 at some places.

The Kef crestas are great speakers (i like Kef stuff!!) and will suit the Denon well.

For a dvd player, it depends on your budget, how about the Toshiba 210e, great player for a bargain price available from 170 - 200 multiregion.

cheers

3. muppet9

muppet9
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you know where i can get the 3802 for 600? How is the 2802 & 3802 for music btw?

The KEF's are looking pretty good, i need to find somewhere round ere so i can listen to them. Are there any other speakers i should know about? Got about 500 - 600 to spend on a full speaker package.

I will take a look at that Toshiba DVD, but as i already have a dvd i was going to be spending a bit more, maybe one of the Denon DVD players? I will spend about 300ish but if there is a really good one for not much more then i could be tempted.

This will be for a Home cinema setup btw, cant belive i didnt say that in the original post.