1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Choosing compact camera

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by CosmoKramer79, Apr 12, 2005.

1. CosmoKramer79

CosmoKramer79

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there everybody, I'm a newbie to this forum :hiya: and need some advice before I shop for a compact digital camera.

I've narrowed the field down to three models from different manufactorers: Sony DCS-P200 (versatile in every aspect), Olympus Camedia C-70 Zoom (has an advantage in optical zoom) and finally Canon Digital Ixus 700
    (in my opinion the best design of the lot).

They all have a relatively high resolution just about seven megapixels and a seemingly vast variety of features... But what to look out for?
    Has anybody got experiences with any of the three cameras, eg. a link to a comparison? Have I left any alternatives out of the equasion?

Any advice regarding pros and cons to these cameras will be appreciated!!!

2. ASH1

ASH1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +61
    Welcome to the forum. I would have a look at the Canon S70 as well. Find the cheapest price and ask Jessops to price match it. Have a look on www.pricerunner.com

ASH1

3. Nick_UK

Nick_UK
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +270
    Dammit, there's a 700 now ? I only got the 500 about six months ago, after owning the Ixus II. For such a small camera, the results are great, and the new silver ceramic case is stunning ! The only downside that I can think of is that it uses a Canon special battery, which can be expensive to buy.

4. seany

seany
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    The 700 as the same chip as the 350 and 20D (Digic ll) that's quite impressive. My fav compact of them all though is still the S70.