Child Accounts (Fortnite)

cunnas

Distinguished Member
Reaction score
Hi all, whilst not new to Xbox I am new to setting up child accounts and need some help and advice!

I have my own account with the gamertag CullercoatsBay. Within my account I have added both my kids - both have email addresses and I have set them up with Gamertags. When I go on the Xbox, and run Fortnite whilst logged in to my kids account, it says this has age restrictions and I can add my password in to allow them access. However, when Fortnite runs, it asks me to link accounts to the Xbox...I assumed this would mean my young lad would be able to use my (his old) Fornite account so he has access to V Bucks etc but it says there is a problem linking accounts. Does this mean he will have to use his own Gamertag and essentially start again on Fortnite or is there any way he can access my CullercoatsBay account from within his child account? Think I am tying myself in knots trying to work this out when it might be simple!

Was hoping someone could help me with the above?

I am getting a little confused now!

Am I right in thinking that if I have Xbox Ultimate and have bought digital games on my account, the kids can use them when logged in on their own (family linked) gamertags?

If so, how does that work with accounts and game progress? My kid has been using my account to play fortnite, but now has his own gamertag - if he logs in as himself on the xbox, and runs fortnite, will this play under my gamertag name (as in he will have his progress and V bucks etc), or will he have to have his own seperate fortnite account under his own gamertag?

Sorry - a very late reply so probably useless.

For most games, all progress and purchases are tied to the original gamertag...so for most games your son would get a new save file and have to start over. (No access to skins and vbucks).