Cheeky... AVF, cheeky

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by =adrian=, Jul 17, 2015.

  1. =adrian=

    =adrian=
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Internet
    Ratings:
    +7,532
    [​IMG]



    £$£$£$£$£$£
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  2. aslird

    aslird
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,291
    yeah, really pisses me off - has to be on purpose as well, especially as you can't even ad-block them :(
     
  3. Sebastalona

    Sebastalona
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    18,443
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Caledonia
    Ratings:
    +14,287
    First time I've seen it.........
     
  4. DeanE

    DeanE
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    9,657
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,689
    No problems here either.
     
  5. Houghsx

    Houghsx
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    9,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    City 17
    Ratings:
    +3,370
    Had this issue as well so hover just above the bell to get around it.
     
  6. ohh_danielson

    ohh_danielson
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    6,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough (Norton, Stockton)
    Ratings:
    +1,038
    Yeah I noticed this too. Luckily I'm usually on my mobile (tapatalk) .
     
  7. sykotik

    sykotik
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    co. durham
    Ratings:
    +2,279
    I get this , but i think it's because i have FF zoomed in a little, as i see it only while using the laptop , using the PC is fine as that is on a 24in monitor so no need to zoom in .
     
  8. Foster

    Foster
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    16,150
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    West Yorks
    Ratings:
    +7,341
    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  9. =adrian=

    =adrian=
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Internet
    Ratings:
    +7,532
    Well, I don't have anything zoomed in. The ad is overlapping the AVF notification system. Coincidence? I myself have clicked on it by mistake multiple times already. Add to that thousands of other members and you have:

    [​IMG]
     
  10. sykotik

    sykotik
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    co. durham
    Ratings:
    +2,279
    correct i have a couple of times , but if you put your mouse just at the top the bell , then it wouldn't click on the add .
    but yea i guess AVF have set it that way so they'll get some sort back hander from scan .;)
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2015
  11. GMC79

    GMC79
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,668
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3,187
    Will still use overclockers, even if scan dished out the proper big bags of free haribo.lol
     
  12. jassco

    jassco
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    6,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,332
    Same problem here on chrome - thought it was just me going crazy :laugh:

    How come we can't ad-block it?
     
  13. Furnace Inferno

    Furnace Inferno
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +1,265
    Not an issue for me as I don't click on the alerts bell, I just hover over it until it pops up with the list. I can't say I'm really bothered by their adverts as they are out of the way and don't pop up or make noise, they could just as well be black bars for all I care.

    Amusing placement nonetheless.
     
  14. Cha1ky

    Cha1ky
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    50,344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Internet
    Ratings:
    +25,290
    Because it's built into the site. You'd have to use an add on in chrome to remove it permanently.
     
  15. Theydon Bois

    Theydon Bois
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    16,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sauf Lunden
    Ratings:
    +7,237
    Please don't talk about adblockers, I will raise it though. I may need a prompt as I am slightly pissed after a half day of non work and half a day in the pub :)
     
  16. WildeKarde

    WildeKarde
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4,910
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +922
    It's really annoying - the whole bell is covered on mine including to the left of the bell and I'm in full screen at 4k so it's not even as if it's a cramped window :(
     
  17. Houghsx

    Houghsx
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    9,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    City 17
    Ratings:
    +3,370
    So your a half a job man then! At least complete one of those and at this time of day you only have one option. [emoji481]
    When you report back telling us all you love us I know you have completed the job [emoji4]
     
  18. GMC79

    GMC79
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,668
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3,187
    Just loaded up for a look this is how i view the forum in the screen so a non issue for me. Have to go so far out to even see them. Must be why ive never seen them or others.
    [​IMG]
     
  19. =adrian=

    =adrian=
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Internet
    Ratings:
    +7,532
    Cheater!
     
  20. GMC79

    GMC79
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,668
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3,187
    Forums looks bad any other way, fits perfect like that.
     
  21. =adrian=

    =adrian=
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Internet
    Ratings:
    +7,532
    Was of course kidding ;) I've used it myself but since reinstalling Windows I am now on stock settings, ie 20th century 1/3of the screen of content, the rest blank space / ads.
     
  22. GMC79

    GMC79
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,668
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3,187
    haha yeah it's horrible
     
  23. Theydon Bois

    Theydon Bois
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    16,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sauf Lunden
    Ratings:
    +7,237
    Done. Now to sit back with a bottle of Corona and watch Ray Donovan.
     
  24. Houghsx

    Houghsx
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    9,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    City 17
    Ratings:
    +3,370
    With or without a slice of lime?
     
  25. Theydon Bois

    Theydon Bois
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    16,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sauf Lunden
    Ratings:
    +7,237
    Rhetorical question, obviously!
     
  26. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    14,922
    Products Owned:
    7
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +10,949
    Can you post a full screen capture, please? If the site width is set to the normal 1024px (which it will be unless you are changing the site manually somehow) then this should not be happening.
    Also contrary to your overly cynical £$£$£$£$£$£ message, I would not want it to happen and I would fix it if there was a problem.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2015
  27. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    14,922
    Products Owned:
    7
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +10,949
    Correction. The clickable area was in the wrong place, 100% my fault and please accept my apologies. I have moved it and it should be fine, now.
    This was not intentional and it's a shame that there is so much negative feeling towards AVForums management. We (myself and Vicki) own and run AVForums and it's our full time job and our passion. We do not deliberately trick people into clicking ads and wouldn't want to as we don't like those kinds of tactics.
    And despite the suggestions that we are rolling around in beds of money, quite the opposite is true. It's actually tough making AVForums pay its way and a lot of money is spent on editorial and development work to make the forums better.
    https://www.avforums.com/threads/site-updates-check-here-for-the-latest-changes.1825598/
    We refuse to run pop-unders, interstitial and other intrusive ads, and we've only reluctantly put the Content Click ads on because we need to. As soon as we can afford to, we'll get rid of them.
    I hope someone reading this believes me!
     
    • Like Like x 8
    • Thanks Thanks x 3
    • List
  28. =adrian=

    =adrian=
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Internet
    Ratings:
    +7,532
    Well I didn't want to sound cynical, it just looked like one of those which is hard to believe it was done by mistake. My apologies if it was.

    I clicked on it dozens of times by mistake, so I can now safely say I have contributed to running AVF :)

    BTW I respect that this is your day job and apologies if my posts here cause any hard feelings. It was all written with my tongue firmly planted in my cheek and just as a bit of amusement. Thank you for correcting it though, as it was genuineinly getting in the way of operating the forum's notification system.
     
  29. sykotik

    sykotik
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    co. durham
    Ratings:
    +2,279

    I don't think that the posts were all meant to be negative, just a bit of light hearted fun
    well i hope so ,
    yea i did make a joke about back hander's , but it was all in good fun
    i think we all understand how hard it can be trying to run a forum like AVF and the cost it takes to keep it up and running on a day to day basis, even if it means an "add" needs to be up from time to time.
    and I/we all appreciate the work that you do here :thumbsup:
     
  30. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    14,922
    Products Owned:
    7
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +10,949
    It was a mistake.
    The system for creating skins allows me to manually specify where the clickable area is, but it was designed for when the site was 960 pixels wide (the pink area in the middle), so maybe that's where the glitch came from.
    1.jpg
    Anyway, no problem.
    I'll double check the saved clickable areas in future.
     

Share This Page

Loading...