Cheapest TV to watch HD on ?

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by RecordablDVDfan, Feb 21, 2005.

  1. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +49
    What's the cheapest way of watching HD at the moment, is there a HD compatable LCD TV for under say £500 ?
     
  2. rogeralpine

    rogeralpine
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    573
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Plenty of smaller LCD's that'll do 720p - watch for HDCP compatibility issues though. (Not really looked into this myself).

    There are cheaper CRT and new technology sets on the horizon - end of the year - but you're probably looking at nearer a grand - believe these will be 1080.

    A PC monitor could be your cheapest option - what source material are you using?
     
  3. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +919
    Yep - a PC monitor is fine if you are receiving / replaying the HD on a PC. However if you are aiming to connect a monitor directly to an HD source - such as a D-VHS player, HDTV set top box etc. then you'd probably better make sure you have a 16:9 monitor.

    Whilst a 4:3 PC monitor may have suitable resolution - I don't think that many HD sources will letterbox 16:9 HD (which HD universally is AIUI) to 4:3 HD letterboxed. You'd end up with tall thin people if you just connected an HD source to a 4:3 PC monitor?

    It is fine using a PC - as that can do the letterboxing for you.

    4:3 HDTVs sold in the states letterbox themselves - PC monitors won't?
     
  4. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +49
    I've got a Skystar 2 card and a 15" TFT monitor with a 85cm dish. I'm just about to upgrade to a 3.06ghz HT cpu with 1GB of RAM btw is this 100% ok for Euro1080 etc ?
     
  5. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +284
    ...and ensure it can accept an HDCP-encrypted signal. :) What a shame Dell's lovely new 2405FPW doesn't ... :(

    Steve
     
  6. paulfoley

    paulfoley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    3,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hants
    Ratings:
    +121
    I think its the DVI equipped Samsung 730MW. The review (link to it from this site) claims that it is HDCP enabled. In theory it should work with both upscaling projectors, Sky HD & possibly D-VHS Players as it also has component ?

    I may get one soon for the bedroom & so will test it with my DVHS Player & upscaling Denon DVD Player, will report back soon.

    :thumbsup:
     
  7. jon2099

    jon2099
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've seen the 730MW and the socket on the back definitely says "DVI (HDCP)", ditto the downloadable manual. Problem is I can't find a list of modes it supports (apart from the PC modes) so I'd look forward to your report :)
     
  8. Muf

    Muf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IRL
    Ratings:
    +8

    The Skystar2 has no Cam slot so you would not be able to view the encrypted Euro1080 programs on HD1 between 16.00 and midnight CET. You would be able to view the HD1 demo material outside of these times.
    The PC spec looks ok and would require a reasonable graphics card (Radeon 9200 or better). The 85cm dish is fine and needs to point to 19.2 East, at this location there is also the HD Forum test loop at the moment which is not encrypted.

    Jim.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice