1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cheapest place to get XP Pro?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by evildonut, Oct 10, 2002.

  1. evildonut

    evildonut
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Ecosse
    Ratings:
    +0
    Howdy all,

    I've been thinking about upgrading my OS for a while, but this one doesn't come cheap! Any (legal) suggestions?
    Retail would be great, but OEM is good too...
     
  2. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
  3. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    Trade only though???????
     
  4. evildonut

    evildonut
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Ecosse
    Ratings:
    +0
    Furthermore, it's £93 + VAT = ~£110.
    A company called CCL offers a similar OEM price for everybody (I think).

    What about eBay? What would be a *decent* price?
     
  5. MonkeyDonkey

    MonkeyDonkey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
  6. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    Try here too- http://www.spellsoftware.com/mall/main.asp

    What's different between OEM and retail software apart from a nice box? If it works, then it's identical to retail. Updates etc will all be the same.
     
  7. MonkeyDonkey

    MonkeyDonkey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    There are often more restrictions placed on OEM software than retail. In the case of Windows your supposed to buy it with hardware and your only licenced to put it on one computer. Even if that computer blows up, your not legally allowed to install it on another, retail can be transfered.

    Most OEM software is supposed to be bought with hardware and support is sometimes passed on to whoever sold it you.
     
  8. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Agree with the previous poster re: OEM versions.

    Remember Win XP needs activation (on-line or by phone) after a reinstall.

    So even upgrading some components in the future can cause problems with activation, ESPECIALLY if you've an OEM version.

    It works exactly as a retail, same updates etc..., but beware if you regularly swap/upgrade components.

    I'd personally recommend a "corporate" version - no activation ever, & can be installed on any amount of PCs.

    Only proviso is you must own a "corporation" :D
     
  9. evildonut

    evildonut
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Ecosse
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys,

    Sorry for being quiet, I had tons of work to go through!

    MonkeyDonkey, yup that's my understanding of the licence agreement as well, and I'd rather have a bit more freedom.

    Hey Kramer, sounds good but I'd also like to be able to install SP1 if you know what I mean :blush:

    Can't get to that spellsoftware website - is it down or something?
     
  10. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The latest version of Win XP Pro Corp. does include SP1.

    Just need to begin working on that corporation I always dreamed of :D
     
  11. feet14

    feet14
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would it be available to a one-person ltd. company?
     
  12. MonkeyDonkey

    MonkeyDonkey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't think being a Corporation matters for the corporate version (the name just implies where its intended for use). I was under the impression anyone can buy the licences, but you have to buy more than five, but you'd have to check.
    The only reason this version was released is to remove the need for activation for people with a lot of computers (generally large corporations) who couldn't be expected to keep details of which licence key is for which pc, and to save time when installing.
     
  13. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Corp. version costs much $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$!

    You'd have to probably contact MS for a quote.
     
  14. DaveCheltenham

    DaveCheltenham
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +47
    I believe MS specify that you must buy a licence for 5 or more systems in order to qualify for the corporate version.
     
  15. evildonut

    evildonut
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Ecosse
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe in order to buy a corporate version you'd have to sign in for the dreaded MS Open Licence 6.0.

    For that, you have to buy a certain number of licences to apply, and then you have to upgrade regularly otherwise you don't own the licence any longer!
     

Share This Page

Loading...