Cheapest HDMI upscaler?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Bren, Sep 10, 2007.

  1. Bren

    Bren

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +67
    Been looking at the Onkyo 605 but i wondered if there are any upscalers for around the same money.
     
  2. Petrushka

    Petrushka
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hoofddorp NL
    Ratings:
    +5
    If you want an upscaler at this price level, then you may want to consider looking at your TV. It already has an upscaler of the same quality. ;)
     
  3. Bren

    Bren

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +67
    Sorry but you have lost me there. As far as i know my tv does not upscale & how do you know what telly i have?:confused:
     
  4. lazymatt

    lazymatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Croydon
    Ratings:
    +188
    All modern flat panel tellys have internal scalers built in to scale the picture to fit (otherwise SD pictures would be a fraction of the size of the panel).

    If you've not got a flat screen HD telly, there's no point in thinking about an upscaling amp anyway.
     
  5. Bren

    Bren

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +67
    Sorry i meant upscale the picture to 1080i or 720p.
     
  6. lazymatt

    lazymatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Croydon
    Ratings:
    +188
    Again...your TV will do this anyway.

    Eg.. my TV has a native resolution of 1366 x 768. Any picture input will automatically get scaled to that resolution to fit the screen. If your screen is native 1920 x 1080 (1080 i/p) then the screen will upscale all material to that resolution anyway. If it didn't a standard SD picture (say off air, or from a DVD) would be a quarter of the size of the screen.

    If you get an external upscaler, you're effectively scaling the picture twice, which can actually make things worse, especially if it's a cheap scaler.
     
  7. xs2man

    xs2man
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    778
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +68
    Thats what he's saying. Your tv will automatically upscale to its native resolution. Sooooooooooooooooo, if you already got a 1080i / 720p tv, then your tv is already doing it. If its 1080p then, again, its already doing it.

    If you want better quality from upscaling, your gonna have to spend substatially more than that on an upscaler. Think about it, whats gonna have the better upscaling? A £2000+ tv or a £400 av amp? To sell the tv at all it'll need to have a good upscaler ;)


    edit: Lazymatt got in there first....
     
  8. Bren

    Bren

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +67
    Ah i understand now:suicide:
     

Share This Page

Loading...