1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cheapest gc pci card 2 run halo

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by rooney, Oct 21, 2004.

  1. rooney

    rooney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    midlands
    Ratings:
    +33
    a friend of mine has just bought halo for his pc wich wont run .the machine he is running it of is a time xp 2000 with 512 ram with a intergrated graphics card no agp slot (damn cheopo motherboards)he needs the cheapest pci graphics card there is that will run halo on min settings ive been lookin at a

    Sapphire Radeon 9200SE 128MB DDR PCI this card is about 30 pounds(hasnt much more than that to spend as hes a student and nos even less about computers than me)

    (i havnt been widing him up about my new gc honest)



    thanks :confused:
     
  2. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,790
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,107
  3. Joe Pineapples

    Joe Pineapples
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +847
    Doesent stutter on mine with my 9800 pro, but anyway it definetly wont run on any PCI card out there - they just dont do the sort of quality card you would need, in that format.
     
  4. rooney

    rooney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    midlands
    Ratings:
    +33
    i just bought a 9800 pro it doesnt stutter on my either

    so halo def wont run on a cheap pci card
     
  5. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,790
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,107
    What res you running it at? I ran at 1200x1024 and it would stutter occasionally.

    Given the graphics were far worse than Far Cry I was pretty disappointed.
     
  6. rooney

    rooney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    midlands
    Ratings:
    +33
    mines set to 1024 by 768 with everthing on no stut even with tanks ghost etc
    its made such a big diff coming from a geforce 2


    on ati website i found this http://www.ati.com/support/products/pc/radeon9200/radeon9200issuesgames.html

    scroll down to halo and it gives you bug fixes so this card 9200 se pci must work with halo other wise surely there would be no bug fixes

    guessin it will the same as when i had my geforce 2 wich was perf playable
    (if it does work at least it saves grief of changing motherboard etc)
     

Share This Page

Loading...