1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cheap PDA for sat nav???

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by hornydragon, Sep 29, 2004.

  1. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  2. Crocodile

    Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    15,305
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,574
    Tom Tom claim it's compatible with their wired receiver.

    See here for all things GPS/PDA.
     
  3. Dubster

    Dubster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Down South
    Ratings:
    +113
  4. rhoamish

    rhoamish
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wouldn't recommend it, actually. We had no end of problems using a Toshiba PDA with Tomtom.

    Since replaced it with a Mitac Mio 168, with integral GPS receiver. Works a treat, and has better sound and screen than the Tosh.
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Hmmm Mitac anyone got a link for a cheap supplier?
     
  6. Fred Smith

    Fred Smith
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +169
  7. BKATZ

    BKATZ
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
  8. JetJockey

    JetJockey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looked at all of this quite recently, but when you look at the cabling etc etc needed inside the car, and the occasional operating system freeze..............

    I eventually bought the dedicated TomTom Go at £425 online. Absolutely brilliant, would not be without it! Even loaded up all the Gatso sites.

    Gerald. :devil:
     
  9. BKATZ

    BKATZ
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Which is why the Mitac is so good. As the GPS is built in!
    Where it beats the "go" into a cocked hat, is that you can use it out of the car in "walk" mode.

    B.
     
  10. JetJockey

    JetJockey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Errrr!

    But you can use the TomTom Go out of the car in walk mode. It is completely portable, just like a cocked hat!

    Cheers, Gerald. ;)
     
  11. A.C.E

    A.C.E
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dell Axim 5.great little unit, upgradeable too. :)
     
  12. BKATZ

    BKATZ
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    OK Gerald, lets see you put it in your pocket! :D

    (Only joking the "go" is fine, just not as flexible [or small] as the "Mio")


    Regards,

    B . ;)
     
  13. DennisT

    DennisT
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Been using the Mio (with TomTom) now for 5 months. Would recommend it to anyone :)

    Great piece of kit... Less then 400 quid on a package deal..
     
  14. jackuzi

    jackuzi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Wales
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Dad bought the Yakumo from Toys R Us and is very happy with it.

    Quick question though - I want to buy a case for it for his Birthday in a coule of weeks and have found ones that fit the Mitac Mio 168..will this fit the Yakumo?

    A quick reply would be appreciated.

    Thanks.

    Glen
     
  15. BKATZ

    BKATZ
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    They are both the same machine, so a case for a 168 will fit.

    B.
     
  16. jackuzi

    jackuzi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Wales
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, I thought so from the pics.

    G. ;o)
     
  17. gur

    gur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm thinking about getting the Mio, how easy is it to load up speed camera stuff? is there a resource online you can get this database from?

    cheers
     
  18. pezzer

    pezzer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +1
    A good starting point is www.pocketgps.com which has advice and reviews including a free speed camera database.

    Things to consider are whether you only want a gps system ( eg garmin)or whether you want to use it with a PDA. Also if you are going to use it in car then you will neeed to think about an external antennae and also power / cradle. Again pocket gps website has lots of help. Take a look at www.brodit.com for in car accessories to get a neat cable set up.

    If you are going to use it outside the car and are going to use it with a PDA then also think about keeping the storage card slot free - use a receiver which cradles the PDA.

    The pocket gps has lots of links etc.
     
  19. pezzer

    pezzer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +1
  20. antibt

    antibt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    northwest
    Ratings:
    +1
    Aldi is selling Medion 320MB mobile navigation system with integrated GPS receiver for £249.99. Any one has any view of this PDA? Judging from this forum it is cheap?
     
  21. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    the medion at aldi is great (previous model was) stocks are erratic but they are great if you can get one.......... Would have bought one myself if i had any money......:(
     
  22. antibt

    antibt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    northwest
    Ratings:
    +1
    I thought you are looking for Mitac.Medion seems to be cheaper than Mitac or Yakuma.Incidentally Yakuma is out of stock every where.
     
  23. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    I was but lack of funds means its now on hold............LONG story but i am skint!!!
     
  24. Fred Smith

    Fred Smith
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +169
    Medion's are rebadged Mitac's as are Yakumo's. I bought the previous Aldi model a year ago (400Mhz processor) at £350 it's still working fine. The current offer is good value.
     
  25. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,151
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    From the 11th Nov Aldi is supposed to have the Medions back in (which are just rebadged Mitac Mio 168s as stated by others).

    These include all the bits and mapping software on a 256mb SD card.

    Not bad for £250.
     
  26. anne hyams

    anne hyams
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi! I'm new to this game. I am looking to an answer to the same question. I feel as if I have landed from Mars - I know nothing about PDAs, so went to a shop to try to find out and they said this is NEW, and they do not know if it will work, and possibly will not be able to use an external keyboard with it. I don't seem to be able to get info on the system/PDA at all...is there infra-red, wireless, etc....

    and I may not be able to find the answers either on the site. I have chosen not to give my email address as I've had to change email addresses so often due to unwanted mail...
     
  27. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,151
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
  28. Crocodile

    Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    15,305
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,574
    What do you want the PDA to do?

    As far as satellite navigation goes a good place to start would be here. Then have a browse around the rest of their site.
     
  29. anne hyams

    anne hyams
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want the PDA to communicate with my computer, to be able to buy an external keyboard for it, and to be able to put on a bible plus one or two other books, and a diary and also make notes of meetings- some may be a bit long, if by hand it might be 2-3 pages of A4. Would be good if I could keep my address book and other details too. A few pictures would be nice.

    The GPS is a bonus, would like it if it works, but would not go out and buy it especially...
     
  30. anne hyams

    anne hyams
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also would not want it to be too big and heavy in it's PDA mode..would want to be able to fit it into my pocket or my overstuffed handbag!

    Is anyone out there with answers?
     

Share This Page

Loading...