Cheap NAS vs Expensive NAS (with examples) - what are the differences?

chris2922

Im very new to the idea of NAS and have never even owned an external drive.
Im about to move into a house of my own though, and id like a central repository for my FLAC music files that can be accessed by a Squuzebox, or a Sonos or something like that.

My only requirement is that it supports RAID-1, because i dont want to spend ages ripping my music to FLAC and then to lose the data if my HDD dies.

So ive been looking through the forums and around the net and on here the concensus seems to be that QNAP are very good NAS products.

Id like to knowwhay they cost so much more than what 'appears' to be a similar product on eBay though. I know eBay is renound for crap, but id still like to know.

So here we go:

QNAP TS-209
http://www.store2go.net/shop/ultimatestorage/p/category/0708096495-QNAP+TS-209/
Price: £226.72 (incl. tax)

DUAL IDE HDD NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE ENCLOSURE FTP NAS
SERVE iTUNES VIDEOS WEB SITE PRINTER SERVER BRAND NEW!
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/DUAL-IDE-HDD-...ryZ86758QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
£86.98

So why the VAST difference in price?

badbob

Banned
You could get a Buffalo Linkstation Pro. Install Linux then slimserver. No need for a PC then. Mates done it, works ok although can't get startup script to work (need a PC attached to boot, but once it's on then it's ok)

I have a NAS , D-Link DNS-323. Great. And a Squeezebox, but music is stored locally not on the NAS.

BiffBoy

OR you could even do a search on ebay or tinter´net and find a Linxsys NSLU2 (slug) which takes USB drives.

I use one with a 300GB IDE HDD & an IDE to USB cable. I´ve installed a different firmware and linux and it serves up my mp3´s and video´s a treat to my Xbox running XBMC and to my Palm TX PDA (as it´s attached to a wireless router too.)

chris2922

Haha, woah there t72bogie, i think that £908.04 Incl. VAT is a bit extreme for my requirements! Nice though.