1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Chase play/timeslip etc.

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Paul_Lee, Jul 23, 2004.

1. Paul_Lee

Paul_Lee

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dear all,
    Sorry if this is an obvious question, but I am still learning about the various DVD formats. I am nearly settled on buying a Toshiba RDXS-32 because of its timeslip/simultaneous record and playback. From what I have heard from the newsgroups etc., I thought only machines that had a HDD and/or DVD-RAM could do this.... and then I saw a review for a Pioneer machine (DVD+R,+RW) that could playback/record at the sime time!

Is this feature not exclusive to HDD/DVD-RAM machines then?

Best wishes

Paul

2. mokas

mokas

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    same for me , i always knew only DVD-Ram or HDD can do that , since i have to change my Recorder for a Pioneer i saw he can do that with DVD-RW , i read a review on a french web site who say that they are ( for now ) the only one who can do that , they added 2 memory for be able to do that :smashin:

3. PhilipL

PhilipL

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +421
    Hi

Hard-drives are plenty fast enough to do time-slip so mostly offer this function.
    DVD-RAM is able to do time-slip and always has on set-top recorders.
    DVD-RW is able to do time-slip now it has reached 2 and 4 speed.

This is nothing really special regarding time slip, as long as the media can support around 22 Mbits/sec writing (that is 2 speed DVD-RW), then it can keep up with doing two things at once, recording a bit, reading a bit, recording a bit etc. A buffer just keeps things running for those split seconds the laser is moving between areas of the disc.