Channel distribution in house

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by norneenron, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. norneenron

    norneenron
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi folks,
    Hoping you can help me find this product I have been looking for.
    To simplify room setup, I was hoping to just distribute some TV stations throughout the house (9 rooms).
    I would like to set one decoder for each channel and take the output into a muxer, converting typically HDMI in to one Coax on the other side.
    I need to be able to set what channel each input is, hopefully 8 inputs.
    Also would be nice to be able to adjust signal strength on the RF (Coax) output.
    Need to be able to handle SD and HD.
    Ideally, it would be useful being able to set 4:3 or 16:9, and if the output should be SD or HD, to ensure comparability with older TV sets, even better if the input is HD, that it could be split into a 4:3 SD signal and a 16:9 HD signal.
    The setup is for Norway.

    This way I only need a TV and an antenna cable to plug into the wall in each room. You can search for the channels by using the TV standard search.
    Yes, I would need 1 decoder per channel, but that is not a problem.
    The problem is that it is very difficult having all these decoders in all the room.

    Hope you guys can help recommending me a product(s) :)
     
  2. mike7

    mike7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,908
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +611
    I was in Norway last year. I had no idea that life was so complicated. Why are you not just distributing the RF signal from your aerial around the house and allow the TVs to tune in to whatever channel is required to be watched? If I read you right you are going to have 8 separate set-top/tuner boxes all tuned to different channels and varying from HD or SD which you want to mix and re-transmit down a cable. Then you want to convert some HD signals to SD. I'm not sure how you propose to convert HDMI to co-ax !! You will need 8 modulators set to different frequencies. What you are suggesting is like setting up a mini transmitting system by cable. We really need a bit more clarity.

    I really think you need to go back to basics and think again. What you are proposing seems highly complicated. What is the source of the TV signal? Aerial or Satellite dish. How many sets will require a 'decoder'. In the UK a set-top box can be bought for around £20. What sort of 'decoder' are you talking about? What you are proposing will cost many times more than that in total.

    I'm guessing at this stage that the only system you might buy 'off the shelf' will be one designed for hotels, but this will be unlikely to have the facility to provide HD and SD side by side.With such a system there will be quality issues, and, at a guess, you are looking at a cost of several hundred Pounds, perhaps more.Given that I was paying £9 for a small bottle of beer in Norway that at home would be about £2 I think you may even be looking at 4 figures to set up what you propose!
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2012
  3. mike7

    mike7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,908
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +611
  4. norneenron

    norneenron
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys,
    The problem I have is that I cannot have the decoders in each room. As mentionned, have to have one decoder for each channel I want (plus a few that are not coded, so not so many decoders, maybe 4).

    I need a box that will take HMDI/DVD (one or the either) and VGA/Svideo (one or the either) input, you select channel it sould be on.

    Prefferably 8 inputs like this (if HD, both HD and SD signal on two different channels out).
    Output: 1 coax with variable signal power amplification.
    In addition to RF throughput (to cover the non decoded channels).

    Any clearer?


    That way I can Do not need other equipment in each of my rooms than a normal antenna cable to the coax wall outlet, and the TV can just search up the channels I have put on the network (one for each decoder, plus for the ones not coded (from the throughput).

    That is not complicated. It simplifies the rooms a lot. Drawback is of course a limitation on number of channels, but that is most often not a problem (only a few good ones anyway).
     
  5. mike7

    mike7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,908
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +611
    You are, in effect, setting up a 'private' in-house cable system (see my reference to the Swedish design). You have not told us what the source of your 'channels' is. As I understand it you want to send a mix of HD and SD channels round your house as RF signals. You want to mix 4:3 and 16:9. There is no indication if you are wanting Analogue or Digital channels to be received, or a mix of both. What sort of tuners do the televisions have, analogue or digital? It is not going to be a simple matter to set up your channels as digital ones to go down a co-ax. Apart from equipment used in the broadcasting industry there are no gadgets to generate digital transmissions that can be interpreted by a domestic digital television set. I understand that analogue TV was switched off in Norway in 2009, but, like us you will probably still have dual sets.

    As I seem to be the only one who has replied to this, although over 300 people have read your request, I have to say that this sounds proposal is highly impractical and, if you really want to do it, overly expensive just to distribute TV signals round the house. It is not as 'simple' as you think. It needs specialised equipment and a specialist supplier to do the job. After spending a lot of money you then talk of compatability with old style TVs (4:3/Analogue/CRT?). Why spend so much on out of date TVs? It may be that just a bank of RF modulators set to different channel frequencies might do the trick, but the quality will be pretty poor as you will be tuning in on analogue channels on the TVs even if they start out as digital at source.

    Sorry I can cannot be of more help.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2012

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice