Channel 4 HD sound making it unwatchable

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Jaycee Dove, Jan 22, 2008.

  1. Jaycee Dove

    Jaycee Dove
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +172
    Is anyone else having regular problems on Channel 4 HD?

    Since last weekend there have been regular sound drop outs lasting several seconds. The programmes become unwatchable.

    I have had to move back to the SD version.

    Is this a box issie (others have reported it on Digital Spy so it is not just me) or is everyone getting it?

    It is intermittent but often enough and persistent enough to spoil a programme.
     
  2. Martin J.

    Martin J.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +175
    I'm getting it too. There were long drop-outs in AVP the other night.
     
  3. Paulie-W

    Paulie-W
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,014
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +493
    I`m getting it too, and as above, have reverted back to SD
     
  4. Jaycee Dove

    Jaycee Dove
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +172
    Thanks. Good (or bad) to know.

    Guess it looks like it is Channel 4s fault and we will have to wait until they fix it.

    Cannot find anything on their site.
     
  5. Bachstrad

    Bachstrad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,077
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +262
    Yeah, me too! :thumbsdow

    Definitely a CH4 HD issue.

    ATB

    Max
     
  6. oldwellian

    oldwellian
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    It was Happening this afternnon with me I thouhgt it might have been my kit, glad to know its not
     
  7. gblades

    gblades
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Bracknell, UK
    Ratings:
    +51
    How bad was it for everyone. I am wondering if it causes more problems for some amps than others.

    On mine I have 2 or 3 clicks about half way through and then one spell about 3/4 of the way through where the sound dropped out for 5-20 seconds at a time on about 5 occasions. This dropout spell only lasted a couple of minutes though.
     
  8. derek500

    derek500
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +497
    Deal or No Deal was bad the first fifteen minutes or so.
     
  9. redknag

    redknag
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Wickford Essex
    Ratings:
    +34
    Time team was crud on Sunday too. The sound, not the program.:D
     
  10. Bluestu

    Bluestu
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am having no end of problems with sound at present with Sky HD.

    I've only had the service since the 3rd of January and since then the 1st box was replaced due to power spikes from the RF Outlet making the controllers useless.

    I now have a new box with a very noisy hard disc, but the main problems are related to sound.

    I am experiencing drop outs on a regular basis (Ch4 HD), but also I experience it quite often on Discovery HD. They don't generally last very long but it is enough to ruin the programme you are watching when they occur.

    Also, I've posted before that the sound drops for a brief second at regular intervals on Sky Sports, almost like a crackle. It happened 11 times during the 1st half of the Tottenham - Arsenal game last night. I thought it was restricted to just the HD channel but when I switched to channel 401 (regular sky sports) the problem occurred there also. It never happened on my Sky + box.

    Finally, during a recording on BBC HD last week the sound and the pictures were massively out of sync. This was through the TV not through the AMP so I don't think the Sync option in the menu would make a difference here.

    I've recorded all of these problems and wrote to Sky last week.
     
  11. tvdavid

    tvdavid
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    North Essex
    Ratings:
    +120
    I find the sound is much quiter than other HD channels on 4HD.

    I just use the SD one the most still.

    I also find the SD picture is just fine.
     
  12. spice2019

    spice2019
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    297
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Solihull
    Ratings:
    +16
    Same problem here. Hugh's Chicken Run last Saturday was virtually unwatchable due to sound drop outs, some of the drop outs would last for 10 seconds or so. I thought there was something wrong with my recording and was messing around with the sound settings. I guess there is no fix for this?
     
  13. fiettkau

    fiettkau
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Me too
    Million dollar Baby was unwatchable due to frequent 10-15 dropouts.
     
  14. KeanosMagicHat

    KeanosMagicHat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Ratings:
    +553
    I take it everyone that has complained on here has also contacted C4?
     
  15. pwood

    pwood
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,607
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    Ratings:
    +178
    I've recorded that and whilst I dropped in to small section noted the sound had gone so recorded the ch4 version until it came back up. From what you are saying I may as well have not bothered as that was not the only section missing sound.

    I have emailed CH4

    CH4HD
     
  16. KeanosMagicHat

    KeanosMagicHat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Ratings:
    +553
    Thanks for the link, I've sent an email.

    For others yet to do so, there is actually a drop down menu on the email form specifically to report a technical fault, so it should get to the correct department.
     
  17. KeanosMagicHat

    KeanosMagicHat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Ratings:
    +553
    Well I hope you're all sending in your emails because the C4HD sound problems have just gone to a whole new level.

    8 mins into I, Robot and still no main dialogue channel.

    It looks great and the music / surround channels are playing fine but no dialogue.

    :thumbsdow
     
  18. rongood

    rongood
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,344
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    herts
    Ratings:
    +270
    SENT
     
  19. aerofly2

    aerofly2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    For the 3rd week running now Time Team (Ch4HD) is being totally ruined by sound drop-outs. Surely someone at Ch4 must have read all the emails of complaint by now.:mad::mad::mad:
     
  20. jakey

    jakey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +185
    Just to confirm this problem is also happening on my non-Sky HD box which is a Kathrein UFS-910.

    email sent.
     
  21. JBaguley

    JBaguley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    Having the Time Team drop-outs too on my SkyHD box - mail sent.
     
  22. drykid

    drykid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Heh I just tried playing back my recording of it, and something was obviously very wrong audio wise. So I came here hoping to find it wasn't just me, and thankfully it isn't. It's pretty annoying though, especially as you say it looked really impressive.
     
  23. pob

    pob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Ratings:
    +175
    With I-Robot, it looks like they had the 5.1 mix, but somehow only managed to transmit the left and right channels as a Dolby 2.0 stream, hence no dialogue at all.
     
  24. jimmm

    jimmm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +8
    yes same here on timeteam unwatchable turned off
    program inside hames same problem i cant watch
    ch 4 hd verry poor:nono:
     
  25. OxfordDon

    OxfordDon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    116
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
    I checked through my recording of it, and they finally got the dialogue channel running after about 90 minutes of the film. Absolutely pathetic tbh. Someone's head should roll IMO at C4HD, that is simply unacceptable.
     
  26. Prime Time

    Prime Time
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +12
    I emailed Channel4 like others on the forum to complain about the I Robot debacle and received an apologetic email response.

    I suggest people contact Channel4 via their website if sound problems continue with certain programmes. It is annoying but hopefully their engineers will then be able to identify all the causes of these sound problems and be able to eradicate them from future broadcasts.
     
  27. Jason56d

    Jason56d
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,903
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Jarden, Texas
    Ratings:
    +1,091
    Didn't watch the new episode of Skins the other night as it's on 4HD tonight. Have fingers and toes crossed.

    PS have emailed them too!
     
  28. Ray Hutchings

    Ray Hutchings
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've emailed Channel 4 and received "We apologise for the recent problems . . ." and ". . . Our engineers are now aware of the issue. . ."
     
  29. KeanosMagicHat

    KeanosMagicHat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Ratings:
    +553
    Watched the first 50mins or so of Naked Gun last night without any sound problems (which is nice).
     
  30. tworooms

    tworooms
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I had the same trouble when I first got SKY HD last year, no centre channel on Sky movies HD. I phoned them and they said I had to restart the box. This did fix it but it still seems to be going badly wrong on Ch4 HD. Has anyone else seen this on other channels on SKY HD?
     

Share This Page

Loading...