• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Changing from pc to Mac - program alternatives?

littlesheepy

Distinguished Member
After this thread *http://www.avforums.com/forums/computer-systems/1273862-computer-suggestions.html and looking around the web, I'm now thinking of making the transition from pc to Mac and treating myself to a new Mac mini.
However, never having had a Mac before, just wondering if those in the know, know if there are any good/easy/free alternatives to these programs I use on the pc?
Convertxtodvd
DVD decrypter
DVD shrink
Imgburn
Also, any ideas where the best/cheapest place to buy one from and the wireless mouse and keyboard? I'm studying an nvq type course but with a learndirect centre. Any idea if the education discount from apple would apply?
Any help would be most appreciated, thanks. *

tinners

Prominent Member
you can probably google most of these but
mactheripper
handbrake will rip dvds to most formats and with vlc installed it decrypts on the fly

you can also run dvd decrypter / dvd shrink in parallels or bootcamp.

littlesheepy

Distinguished Member
you can probably google most of these but
mactheripper
handbrake will rip dvds to most formats and with vlc installed it decrypts on the fly

you can also run dvd decrypter / dvd shrink in parallels or bootcamp.

Thanks very much, that's part of the problem sorted. Would I have to buy a copy of windows to run this boot camp or parallels thing?

Shoka

Prominent Member
Thanks very much, that's part of the problem sorted. Would I have to buy a copy of windows to run this boot camp or parallels thing?

You would, yes.

Another couple of suggestions for you: