Change Halogen g10s to led?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by tigermad, Nov 16, 2017.

  1. tigermad

    tigermad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +686
    I have a couple of g10 downlighters in the ensuite. Can I just swap these for g10 leds? Thanks.
     
  2. chrisgal

    chrisgal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,205
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +98
    Think you might need to change the transformers as well. Well that’s what I did and works perfectly well.
     
  3. tigermad

    tigermad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +686
    Someone told me the transformers are built in. Is that wrong?
     
  4. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    19,918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +10,220
    If the Halogens and LED are both mains 220VAC then yes, just a straight swap.

    Is it a normal on/off switch or a dimmer. If a dimmer then (a) you will need to make sure you buy dimmable LEDs and (b) you may need to change the dimmer to one that is compatible with LEDs. I always advise to just try your existing dimmer first rather than rushing out to buy a new one. But if a normal switch then nothing else to do other than swap the bulbs over.

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
  5. tigermad

    tigermad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +686
    Hi Nigel. It’s a normal on and off. No dimmer involved at all.
     
  6. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    19,918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +10,220
    And to your knowledge are the halogens just normal mains 220v types, not low voltage with an external transformer.

    If normal mains then just swap out with LEDs.

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
  7. Wahreo

    Wahreo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    15,440
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,725
    GU10’s by their very nature are mains fed.

    Nigel has it.
     
  8. John7

    John7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +982
    If the lamps are bayonet fitting (push and twist) They are GU10 mains. If they are two pin push fit, they will be 12 volt and have an associated transformer.

    If you have the 12 volt type, suggestion would be to replace the whole fitting for the GU10 type, removing the need for the transformer, which will most likely need replacing with an LED driver if you keep the 12 volt fitting.
     
  9. DPinBucks

    DPinBucks
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Burnham, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +2,000
  10. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,754
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6,347
    This seems to be getting over-complicated.
    Standard GU10 downlighter bulbs are mains powered.
    GU10 replacement LEDs are also mains powered.
    Simple swap. Full stop. My recommendation would be to err on the side of higher light output (wattage equivalent). Also, watch for the colour temperature - 2700-3000k for a warm white similar to halogen; if you want to go "modern", 6500k is very white white.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  11. tigermad

    tigermad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +686
    Ok so I’m happy my gu10s are a bayonet fitting and a straight swap for led. The best bulb in the extractor fan has blown and this one is a MR16 12v 35w 300lm so I guess I will have to do a straight swap for another halogen on this one.
     
  12. tigermad

    tigermad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +686
    Doesn’t seem like you can get them any more :-( not sure what to do.
     
  13. Cocksure

    Cocksure
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4,460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +1,553
    Take the bulb to your local electrical merchants (not diy shop). They will soon tell you what bulb if any you can use instead
     
  14. DPinBucks

    DPinBucks
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Burnham, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +2,000
  15. tigermad

    tigermad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +686
    Got some from bunnings in the end :)
     
  16. krish

    krish
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    36,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Astral Crescent, Zoovroozlechester, Betelgeuse V
    Ratings:
    +17,227
    Bought these recently, still £9.90...
     
  17. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    43,348
    Products Owned:
    11
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +16,686
    I’ve got so many of them. Been swapping them with colleagues for their halogen ones. I haven’t come across a LED yet that ready does it for me. Ok, besides the Philips Hue bulbs. Colour temperatures are off, the beam is too narrow, the light roll off is too harsh. Just to name a few of my annoyances
     
  18. ufo550

    ufo550
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +826
    I don't typically fit GU10 or MR16 lamps in luminaires cans for my clients, but instead the sealed unit fittings manufactured by the likes of JCC, Collingwood, Aurora etc. I'm told by some colleagues however, that the design, output of the latest LED lamps have improved in leaps & bounds. I have some old generation LED lamps in my own house, and are quite satisfied with them. I certainly would not go back to using halogen, simply because they are inefficient and not cost effective, especially in a house populated by teenagers!
     
  19. stiv674

    stiv674
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +1,023
    Halogen GU10s are a good source of heat in the winter...

    Have you had many problems with JCC downlights?
     
  20. ufo550

    ufo550
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +826
    There was a bit of an issue with the FGLED6's, my wholesaler won't stock them now. The Hybrid 7's had a technical issue at launch. Otherwise its been hunky dory :clap:
     
  21. stiv674

    stiv674
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +1,023
    I haven't had many issues with them but I know some electricians who have. I've started using KSR recently.

    I've just about managed to persuade a Halogen GU10 loving client to change to integral LEDs... :smashin:
     
  22. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    66,887
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +47,288
    A testament to how rubbish they are at converting electricity into light :D
     
  23. stiv674

    stiv674
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +1,023
    Yes exactly, it's ridiculous how hot they get! :eek:
     
  24. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    66,887
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +47,288
  25. stiv674

    stiv674
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +1,023
    Haha, very true! One of the many reasons to love plasma TV's, although not particularly efficient...
     
  26. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    43,348
    Products Owned:
    11
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +16,686
    Oh I wouldn’t like those. I much prefer something where I can Philips Hue bulbs in and control the lighting properly throughout the area.
     
  27. ufo550

    ufo550
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +826
    Arrrgh bit old fashioned me, can't see why you want to turn your lights on when down the pub. Its never put off billy burglar. Just use the good old light switch.

    If you do want to go down that road, there's something some much better and properly expensive :)
     
  28. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    43,348
    Products Owned:
    11
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +16,686
    Oh not just about switching them on remotely. It’s about the ability to create scenes, but foremost quality light. Like with many things light is make makes it happen, yet most of use are happy to put the cheapest bulbs in our homes. Always surprised me.
     
  29. stiv674

    stiv674
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +1,023
    I wired a new house a few years ago which was completely home automated, I never saw the appeal of it myself but it was quite impressive, I guess... :rolleyes:
     
  30. ufo550

    ufo550
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +826
    Guess whatever floats your boat, and of course it must be somehow connected to WiFi, just to have the latest whatever. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...