1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Change FAT32 to NTFS on External HD

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by jmci9, Oct 1, 2005.

  1. jmci9

    jmci9
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello and HEEEELLP! :lease:

    I have an external HD with 200G memory. I have utilised about 80G of useful info that I do not want to lose.

    I have a few camcorder video's that I want to put onto DVD but the external hard drive's system is formatted as FAT32, therefore it will only allow 4G transfers.

    Can I re-format the drive and keep the information on it? If so how? If not, how do I do it anyway?

    Cheers everyone :hiya:
     
  2. Ayub

    Ayub
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,385
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bradford
    Ratings:
    +577
    dont know if they willl help.

    Try partition magic

    Install see the drive split it into 3 keep the first convert the other 2 then drag the files onto the new ntfs then format the one you have just " dragged off" from and walla a cream custard! :cool: ;)
     
  3. Brian110507

    Brian110507
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. BestGear

    BestGear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    ...I would advise against it... you will probably have permission problems/issues if you move it to another pc....

    DJ
     
  5. BestGear

    BestGear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    ..should have added... the old CONVERT command (go to a command prompt and type convert /?) will do what you want ...

    DJ
     
  6. alchemystical

    alchemystical
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,073
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +336

Share This Page

Loading...