1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CD to MP3 conversion

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by Taz, May 30, 2003.

  1. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whats the best way to convert CD's to MP3 ? I have just bought myself an MP3 player and want to put some of my CD's on it. What software 'out there' is the best for this job?

    Cheers
     
  2. backtothefuture

    backtothefuture
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    lots of ppl seem to 'swear by' CDEX which is a plug in for 'winamp' I believe ( http://www.cdex.n3.net/)

    I personally have used a plug in for Windows Media Player 9.1

    ( purchased by following 'tools->options->' and clicking on 'mp3 information' )

    and found it to be quite easy to use ; has the usual features of CCDB connectivity and naming files etc
     
  3. WhyAyeMan

    WhyAyeMan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +276
    Exact Audio Copy gives the best results, end of story.

    CDex is good though, and is easier to use.

    Edited to say CDEX is a program in its own right, not a winamp plugin.
     
  4. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +932
    I use real player but some of the tracks are a bit ropey and I'm probably have to re-encode some of them. I'll probably have to them all again at some point - I have an incar mp3 10gb plugged in via fm modulation so the quality didnt need to be too high. but I'm switching cars and hoping for a direct connection so I may needs to raise the quality from 128 to 192

    anybody got a link to audio copy?
     
  5. NaTT

    NaTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +77
    It doesn't matter which coder you use. I use Audigrabber.
    Inportant thing is the codec for conversion and the player for initial rendering of the music file into wav.

    I use the LAME codec at about 224Kbs and ensure the "player program" audiograbber uses is Winamp, because windows media player makes some awful wav files which is then past onto the resulting mp3.
     
  6. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    EAC with LAME is without doubt the best, but not the easiest method. Use VBR rather than CBR if your player supports it.

    I hate mp3 myself but finding a hardware player for anything else is...rather difficult.
     
  7. WhyAyeMan

    WhyAyeMan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +276
  8. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +932
    thanks I'll check it out.
     
  9. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you give me some more details of this please Graham. ;)


    Thanks for the replies guys :smashin:
     
  10. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Sounds similar to the Alpine CD system that could be 'plugged' in though RF.
     
  11. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +932
    www.6thplanet.co.uk > mp3 audio > mstation in-car >

    I've got version 2 but only a 10gb disk and not usb but a ide drive bay so it slides into a slot in my pc.
     
  12. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +932
    it comes with two phono cables for stereo which obviously is the better option, but my head unit already had a autochanger and sat nav plugged in and it didn't have rca sockets so I had to use the RF option.
     
  13. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the link Graham, looks good! but I couldnt see the RF bits? ;)



    :clap: for Paul (pbirkett) for the software link :smashin:
     
  14. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's a great piece of software indeed and totally free.

    Just to say, however, that it's a standalone program. It's not a plug-in for WinAmp.

    Taz, see if your MP3 player will play WMAs too. If so, just use WMP9 to get this off your CDs. WMAs sound much better than MP3s at the same bitrate.
     
  15. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Squuirrel, Thanks for that, it does do WMAs so I'll try that as well :smashin:
     
  16. DownToTheBone

    DownToTheBone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    For all your mp3 questions go here ...

    http://www.hydrogenaudio.org


    Procedure for burning good mp3's ...

    Rip with EAC (don't use anything else)

    Use LAME encoder (via something like EasyLAME) with alt -standard or alt -extreme presets

    http://easylame.audiohq.de/index_en.html

    Use MP3Gain if you wish to sort out any clipping issues

    http://www.geocities.com/mp3gain/

    Burn with Nero

    You might be surprised how good they sound.

    Like the separates vs systems debate if you want convenience then use an all-in-one ripper/encoder/decoder. For best quality and control over the finished files use the above method.

    DTTB
     
  17. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,325
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
  18. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +932
    taz, the rf option comes in the box - or at least it did with mine
     
  19. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gone down a different road, had to buy an FM modulator for the car. cheers :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...