1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CD Autoplay

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by RobsterD, Sep 3, 2004.

  1. RobsterD

    RobsterD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2000
    Messages:
    870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +12
    Can I enable autoplay when I load a CD to automatically use Foobar or Winamp or any other desired program to start playing the CD.
    Only option I get is WMP,also what is the best program at the mo for music playback.
    I've been quite impressed with Foobar but the interface is a bit basic.
    Any thoughts appreciated
    Rob
     
  2. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Yes you can. Simply edit the File Type playback option in Windows Explorer, Tools, Folder Options, File Types.

    However, any player worth it's salt should ask you if it should be the default player which will make this change automtically. That player will then start and play the CD upon insertion.
     
  3. RobsterD

    RobsterD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2000
    Messages:
    870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +12
    Well I tried that, yes it opens the file with Foobar now,but it wont autoplay
    when i insert a CD.
    Have tried this with the default of WMP and that doesn't open up automatically either.
    Tried with music file and music cd.What I'm trying to acheive is play a CD without having to powerup my plasma,ie just insert and it play automatically.
    Have I missed something :blush:
     
  4. Epithet

    Epithet
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    OK, try this. Double click on My Computer and then right click on the CD/DVD drive you use to play the CDs. Choose Properties and then click on the Autoplay tab. Ensure the drop down list says Music Files and then click on the radio button 'Select an action to perform'. Finally, select the option that says 'Play using XXX' where XXX is the name of the program you use to play your music CDs.

    Hopefully that will sort it.
     
  6. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    You don't need TweakUI to configure Autoplay for the basic option if you follow the method above.
     
  7. RobsterD

    RobsterD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2000
    Messages:
    870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +12
    Thanks for the input it works on my Server but wont work on my HCPC :confused:
    more playing reqd !!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...