1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Caution out of range error??...

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Placebo2, Feb 18, 2003.

  1. Placebo2

    Placebo2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi all!
    Well just recieved my new Denon 2800 MkII DVD player, hooked it upto my Pioneer 433MXE plasma, and can't get PAL progressive. The above error comes up. NTSC progressive plays fine. All interlaced modes play fine. Any idea?

    Cheers,
    John
     
  2. MattB

    MattB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2001
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex,UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Daft question but are you sure it's an MXE? Do you have a tuner box with it?
     
  3. saggio

    saggio
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    how is the DVD hooked up to the MXE?
     
  4. Placebo2

    Placebo2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi guys and thanks for the replys.
    Definetly a MXE!
    Hooked up through component video. As I said, NTSC prog. works fine, and PAL interlaced is fine, just no PAL prog:mad:


    Cheers,
    John
     
  5. saggio

    saggio
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    don't you need a firmware upgrade on the Denon to enable Pal Prog.?
     
  6. DAUpton

    DAUpton
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. Placebo2

    Placebo2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +5
    It's been made PAL progressive by my dealer.

    Cheers,
    John
     
  8. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +132
    John

    If you're still getting the message, you probably need to change some settings in the 433 menu. Mine's literally off the wall at the moment while I re-decorate, so I'm working from memory. In the menu there is a setting for component/RGB (I think). Check this out. The one you most likely have not spotted is the clamp(?) setting. This is set to auto by default, but I had to set it to locked to get a signal. Don't know for sure but this may be necessary for 625p as opposed to 576p.

    My MXE accepts a PAL PS signal just fine from a Denon 3800, so it shouldn't be too difficult to get the 2800 working.
     
  9. Placebo2

    Placebo2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi,
    Just tried changing the setting to locked and no joy :mad:
    I did ring Pioneer yesterday and they confirmed what we already knew in that the MXE does accept a PAL PS signal. They suggested there was something wrong with the mod.

    Cheers,
    John
     
  10. saggio

    saggio
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    I still insist that must be something in the DVD!

    I can see PAL Prog. on the MXE with all settings at Default (out of the box), including Clamp.

    When I choose my DVD player (Arcam) the dealer had a lot of trouble to make a couple of Denons (2800mkII and 3800) to display properly a PAL Prog. signal and had to fiddle a lot with firmware upgrades by CD disk. That is why I did not buy the Denon, since otherwise, in the end, performances of Denon and Arcam are equal.

    I would enquire once more with your DVD retailer (or with Denon).
     
  11. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +132
    Yup - looks like a dodgy mod.
     

Share This Page

Loading...