Cat5 or Cat6?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by horribleman, Nov 2, 2005.

  1. horribleman

    horribleman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47
    After being quite impressed with the results of mains flex as speaker cable, but having gear that could do with slightly better, I've decided to go with the LAN cable route.

    However, I was wondering whether I would be silly to use Cat6 cable rather than Cat5, as it's almost the same price in Maplin?

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. CJROSS

    CJROSS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
    Messages:
    5,105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +343
    Just use CAT5 orrible.
     
  3. horribleman

    horribleman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47
  4. Sporran

    Sporran
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,487
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Pembrokeshire, Wales
    Ratings:
    +134
    cat5 is also more flexiable and more tollerate to tighter bend radiuses :)
     
  5. horribleman

    horribleman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47
    That's good to know, although it doesn't need to be bent that much for me :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...