Cat5 HD

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by stevietommo, Jul 1, 2015.

  1. stevietommo

    stevietommo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +43
    Afternoon All

    this might be a really simple question.

    But i have (Had) a cat 5 cable feeding the whole house a sky signal in component video.

    I have recently got someone to add a point to point HD feed to make the signal in the lounge HD. unfortunately the item they used needed power and they turned the cat 5 cable that carried the old sky signal into the power source. this means that they used another cat 5 cable to carry the signal into the lounge, but its not showing in the rest of the house.

    i have asked them to come and fix it, and whilst they are willing to come back and find an alternative solution, they are saying that with the point to point (creating HD in the longue, even if they had used the cat 5 cable that carries the sky feed to the whole house, now that the feed is in HD, that would be be able to be sent to the whole house, as the cable could not carry the signal? is this correct?

    hope this makes sense
     
  2. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    What was the old equipment that you were using to carry the component ?

    Maybe a small quick diagram of how it is setup then and now would help, as dont quite get it
     
  3. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,911
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,568
    Deciphering your description of the system is all but impossible :)

    As Seb says a list of what you have and or a wiring plan is required plus an indication of what HDMI gear has been installed.

    How has the installer dealt with getting Component + HDMI out of the SKY Box, more recent Box's don't offer Component video!

    It is perfectly feasible to convert some or all of a single CAT system which is currently carrying Component video over a single CAT cable to carry an HDMI cable over the same CAT cable.

    Any single wire Component video + Stereo Audio system operating on a single CAT cable I have come across utilises a local Power Supply for the Zone Receiver's.

    We have quite a few customers with single CAT 'Component Video' distribution systems which we have fully or partially converted to HDMI over single CAT - it is perfectly feasible to have a mixed solution.

    Joe
     
  4. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Just speculation but maybe its RF over coax not component at all
     
  5. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,911
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,568
    Im assuming Smart-e - we've added HDMI to quite a few of those distribution systems.

    Joe
     
  6. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Excited to find out now :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...