Casualty on BBC tonight

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by Malky1903, Nov 5, 2005.

  1. Malky1903

    Malky1903
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +64
    I don't suppose there's a chance that Casualty could've been shown in HD tonight is there? Watching on my Benq 5120, the image was pretty much crystal clear. Colours were vibrant and sharper than what I've noticed before.

    Can anyone shed some light? Did a search on the BBC website but couldn't find anything.
     
  2. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +921
    Watching on Freeview it looked pretty standard Casualty fair to me, though there weren't that many scenes which would have majorly stressed an MPEG2 chain.
     
  3. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +272
    I recorded it on Sky last night - I'll take a look. Maybe it was just because you were using a great little projector ? :D
     
  4. stevebrowne

    stevebrowne
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No - BBC don't broadcast HD, and you will have no way of receiving and decoding an HD signal form them anyway.
     
  5. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +272
    It may have been recorded in HD, which resulted in a better quality SD feed, which is what I took the OP's post to mean. I think we're all quite aware that you need extra equipment to receive true HD. Bleak House was recorded in HD, which seems to have given superior SD pictures.
     
  6. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +921
    A block of Holby City (made in Elstree) was shot in HD a while back as a feasibility study. Haven't heard of Casualty (made in Bristol) doing the same - though it is possible, though I'd have though the Holby experience would have been enough.

    (Ironic that Holby and Casualty are based in the same hospital, but shot miles apart from each other)
     
  7. Malky1903

    Malky1903
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +64
    Sorry I wasn't clear but yes, I did mean recorded in HD but obviously shown in SD.
     
  8. StevenBagley

    StevenBagley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Wasn't one of the outcomes from it that HD was too good and they'd need to be careful how they shot stuff or the viewers would be physically sick at the images due to the clarity.

    And when the characters meet it becomes a television event! :)

    Steven
     
  9. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +921
    Possibly - though it was also discovered that existing set and make-up standards weren't as terrible in HD as had been thought. (They've obviously been doing stuff that is too good for SD!)

    Complete with a funky "down with the kids" @ sign...
     

Share This Page

Loading...