Carma problems

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by reaper12, Jan 30, 2009.

  1. reaper12

    reaper12
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +119
    Hi All,

    I have been using Carma to try and sort out my speaker and sub setup. first a question, in carma, should I be using the sub(DTS) or the sub(pcm) in the carma modes to calibrate my subwoofer?

    I have been using the sub(dts) one. It shows I have a massive dip around 50hz. My sub amp has a 5 channel PEQ, so I thought I could just put the eq values that I use in Carma into the sub amp peq. I try to smooth out most of the lare dips and spikes etc. My problem is, when I put these values into my sub amp and do a measurement in Carma I get the orginal curve back again.

    Does this mean that my Subamp is not doing any EQ? I tried it with Audessy on and off in my receiver.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. reaper12

    reaper12
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +119
    the same happens if I use the sub(pcm) surely I should be getting a different curve everytime I make changes to the EQ? It's not happening here, which leads me to believe that the XTZ Sub Amp is not doing anything.

    edit:- Actually, the XTZ PEQ is doing something. I can store different profiles. When I switch from a default profile to one I created using Carma, the difference is amazing. The sound is so much better,

    but yet if I measure both profiles in carma, I get the same curve!! Does Carma somehow take out all the EQ measurements? It's really wierd and makes no sense.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2009
  3. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20,377
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +9,537
    Do any of your sub settings or switches turn the PEQ off ?

    What sub do you have ?
     
  4. reaper12

    reaper12
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +119
    My Sub is an XTZ W12.18 passive, connected to an XTZ DSP Sub AMP. I haven't seen anyway of turning off the PEQ. Maybe there is I might contact XTZ tomorrow and ask.
     

Share This Page

Loading...