Carbon copy cloner or Time machine

Discussion in 'Apple Forum' started by PeterF, Jul 27, 2012.

  1. PeterF

    PeterF
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My MacBook Pro died, and so I have ordered a new Macbook Air. I salvaged the hard drive from the MBP, and I also have a Time Machine backup of the MBP. To copy all applications, preferably without needing to re-activate licenses and permissions, should I use CarboCopyCloner, or should I use migration assistant with the Time Machine backup? (The SSD in the MBAir is large enough to hold all my MBP apps and my data) Thanks Peter
     
  2. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,611
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,232
    In either instances it may be the case that you need to reinstall and/or re serialise some of your applications. Adobe CS products for instance use hardware id to verify their serials with so a new Mac will not correspont to the old ID.

    I'd personally only migrate settings and do a clean install of your applications. You'll avoid moving over older preferences and obsolete items this way. It will also give you the opportunity to ensure all your applications are up to date and the most compatible versions for use with the new Mac's installed OS.

    Save your old cloned system though until you are sure that everything is working as you'd like it to. If you do have issues then you can always boot up into the old setup on an external drive and use your old apps on that drive until you've got the new setup running smoothly.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2012
  3. PeterF

    PeterF
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for an extremely speedy and helpful reply! Peter
     
  4. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    43,881
    Products Owned:
    11
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +17,128
    And I would (and have) use Migration assistant. Yes one or two apps need reactivation but that is fine, it is an easy and quick process.
     

Share This Page

Loading...