Capturing VGA output with a DVD Recorder

perrelet

Novice Member
Hello Community,

I am a visual artist who is looking to capture the output of my laptop with my hdd dvd rw. The reason I am doing this with hardware (rather than using screen capturing software) is that my visual graphics are computationally intensive and using capturing software has an inevitable severe decrease in my output frame-rate.

The basic question regards the compatibility of the VGA signal from my laptop and the RGB input on my dvd recorder:

Can I simply use a cable?
Such as this: 1M Meter Scart TO Female VGA / SVGA 15 PIN HD Cable High-Density D-connector | eBay
Or do I need another piece of hardware to make the connection between laptop and dvd work?
Such as this: PC Laptop VGA to TV AV RCA S-Video Signal Converter Adapter Box #159 UK | eBay

Laptop: Dell Precision M4700 (Outputting over VGA)
DVD: Sony HXD890 (Which accepts RGB through a SCART input)

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

Many thanks,

Jamie :)

noiseboy72

Distinguished Member
You will need a scan converter, as your VGA output will be at a higher resolution and frequency than your DVD recorder. It will also be progressive and your recorder requires interlaced.

To capture in HD, I would use the HDMI output and plug it into one of these: Blackmagic Design: HyperDeck Shuttle It will give you almost lossless recording, whereas any form of VGA converter will lose you a lot in terms of quality, even running RGB. This would be a good quality RGB converter, but you can get them for less money than this. VGA to RGB or Video Converter The one you linked to will not be great, but will work.

perrelet

Novice Member
Thankyou for your answer,

I am on a very tight budget so will not be able to afford a more expensive converter. Do you think this whole thing would be easier if I used a HD CCTV recorder instead?

As for my plans with the capture, I am a VJ and would like to record the sets I create for future use...