1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Capturing DVD screens

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by thestorm, Dec 20, 2001.

  1. thestorm

    thestorm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi All

    I'm using Windows XP Pro and would like advice on how to capture DVD screens. In particular Region 1.
    The program I'm using at the moment is WinDVD2000 V2.1

    Is there a work around this or a freeware utility out there which
    I can download and use I'd rather not purchase new software
    as I hardly ever use the PC for dvd playback.
    I just wanted to take a few screen shots of a movie....
    ....."Last Tango In Paris" (if u must know!) :eek:

    Cya,
    Shaz
     
  2. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,757
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    I have WinDVD 2.1 running under W98SE. The reason it won't screen capture (when you press P) is that Hardware Acceleration disables this function.

    Go into Properties > Display > then uncheck the Hardware Motion Compensation feature. That should do the trick.

    Regards
     
  3. thestorm

    thestorm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi Chris

    That didn't work.
    Prior to making the "hardware motion compensation" change I was still able to print screen \ copy paste the image
    into photoshop\painbrush. I made the changes as you suggested and the result is the same. I'm left with a jet black image from where the actual screen is meant to be.

    I'm using a Geforce 2 nvidia display card (if that helps)

    Shaz
     
  4. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,757
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    Ahh, I see what you are doing. OK. You need to stop using Print Screen, and use WinDVD's own capture system instead. Here's an extract from the help files. Follow this and you should find it works...

    "WinDVD now allows users to capture a static image during movie playback. Press the “P” key at any time to capture a BMP file of a moving or static image....Captured bitmaps are stored in the Capture subdirectory of the WinDVD directory on your hard drive. Captured files are numbered sequentially: cap001.bmp, cap002.bmp, and so on."

    Regards
     
  5. thestorm

    thestorm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    It works now.

    Thanks

    Shaz
     

Share This Page

Loading...