Canton or MS Premieres?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Superdan, Oct 31, 2004.

  1. Superdan

    Superdan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Woo hoo..first post!

    After many hours looking I've decided either hte Canton CD-1 imported from Germany or the MS Premieres... what do you guys think?
     
  2. cool hand luke

    cool hand luke
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not that its much help but like you im still undecided between the Cantons or Shorts and its hard to argue with the price you can get the Cantons for from Germany.
    And now i notice the Warfdale Diamonds have been voted best speaker in one of the magazines.Good luck with your decision.
     
  3. Mango Bob

    Mango Bob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm in the same boat, torn between the cantons and the premiere's. Does anyone know somewhere in the south-east where I can audition them?

    Which of the two is likely to sound best with music or would I be better off going for a set with full-size fronts?

    Just found this thread:
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=159635&highlight=canton+music

    Unfortunately adding MS914s is a bit beyond budget so still searching for a musical set of speakers for under £400!
     
  4. andhoey

    andhoey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    how would the cantons compare to the tannoy fx5.1s?
     
  5. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    11,257
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,790
    The premieres are no slouch musically and do have the advantage of being completely compatible with the full size Avant loudspeakers if you wanted to upgrade later on. The 904 is especially suitable for this.
     
  6. Superdan

    Superdan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    For me its 100% movies...got other equipment for sounds. Come on guys help me out here, I've got upgrade-itis very bad! First it was a new telly, now speakers....if im lucky it will be new dvd and amp before the wife notices!!!
     
  7. Superdan

    Superdan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey Bob and Luke, I've taken the plunge and ordered the Premieres...Got them off all the w's hificonfidential.co.uk, £249.99. Cheapest I found them, I'll report back when they get here! The dude said it would be Thursday so heres hoping.
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
  9. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,091
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +86
    Ive just had a look at the set your talking about and they are just the standard premeires and you then have to add £20 for postage so £270 in the end. The subwoofer that is with them (308) is inferior to the sub with the Premiere plus system (309) otherwise its a very good system :D
     
  10. Superdan

    Superdan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Premieres arrived today...very nice. My old sub had only a phono input, but this has a left and right input...my amp also has just a phono output... do i need a phono to stereo or ill m old phono to phono produce the same result?
     
  11. saturday

    saturday
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +0
    You don't need to connect both (they're on the same internal circuit) so single phono is fine.

    When I bought mine about 18 months ago, I recall a thread which talked about this with someone fron MS. You might find it with a search?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice