1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't play E95 ram recordings on my pc

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by cdb, Jan 28, 2005.

  1. cdb

    cdb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    442
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
    Should I be able to play the dvd-ram recorings I make on my Panasonic E95 on my pc, or is there anything I need to do to them first? I can't find a finalise option for ram.

    If I try to play them, power dvd gives some sort of drivers error and windows media player won't access them and neither will real player.

    On the disc is a dvd_rtav folder
    with 3 files:- vr_mangr, vr_movie.vro and vr_mangr.bup

    :lease:
     
  2. ben223

    ben223
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Firstly, is your DVD ROM (on PC) able to play DVD-RAM discs?

    Secondly, DVD-RAM doesn't need to be finalised.
     
  3. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    If he can see the files his drive is DVD-RAM compatible (Sorry PhilipL!). What Operating System are you using? What make/brand of drives do you have? And what version of PowerDVD are you using?

    You may well need DVD-RAM drivers which can be obtained from here:
    http://kenny.storageinfo.co.kr/
     
  4. cdb

    cdb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    442
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
    It's windows XP, It's one of the early ram (in caddy) drives Matsu****a (Panasonic?) LF-D310

    When I put the ram out of my pc into my new recorder it insisted I had to format it, which I did. My pc can see the recoded files but no program can actually play them.
    Should it have the same file structure as a pre recorded dvd? ie audio_ts and video_ts (I think)

    It's power DVD 5.

    Also when I played a finalised dvd-r the bottom 10mm or so of the picture was offest like when playing a worn video tape. :eek:
     
  5. cdb

    cdb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    442
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
    Any ideas?
     
  6. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    No - it should be as you described in your first post. You need to use a VR compatible programme to use the recordings. If you want to convert DVD-RAM to DVD-R then have a look at the link in my signature. If you just want to play them on your PC then you will need a VR capable programme such as WinDVD 4 or above. I'm not sure whether PowerDVD 5 supports VR - certainly the latest versions do.
     
  7. joegib

    joegib
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +10
    Power DVD 5 does support VR.
     
  8. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    Sounds like it could be a driver issue then - did you download and install the DVD-RAM drivers I linked to?
     
  9. cdb

    cdb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    442
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
    Do you mean the A128 firmware (I think) update for the DVD ram drive? If so, I've downloaded it, but not installed it as I haven't a clue how to do it........yet.
     
  10. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    No - I wouldn't worry about the firmware update yet - the DVD-RAM driver is somewhere on that site but you may find it easier to get it from this one. Don't worry that your drive isn't listed - the file is just a generic driver. Naturally virus check any file you download from the internet!
     
  11. cdb

    cdb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    442
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
    Right, I've updated the firmware and the dvd ram driver and I get the following, which I assume is the same as before.

     
  12. cdb

    cdb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    442
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
    Sorted! Uninstalled and Re installed Power DVD5 :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...