Can't play E95 ram recordings on my pc

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by cdb, Jan 28, 2005.

  1. cdb

    cdb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47
    Should I be able to play the dvd-ram recorings I make on my Panasonic E95 on my pc, or is there anything I need to do to them first? I can't find a finalise option for ram.

    If I try to play them, power dvd gives some sort of drivers error and windows media player won't access them and neither will real player.

    On the disc is a dvd_rtav folder
    with 3 files:- vr_mangr, vr_movie.vro and vr_mangr.bup

    :lease:
     
  2. ben223

    ben223
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Firstly, is your DVD ROM (on PC) able to play DVD-RAM discs?

    Secondly, DVD-RAM doesn't need to be finalised.
     
  3. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,700
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,578
    If he can see the files his drive is DVD-RAM compatible (Sorry PhilipL!). What Operating System are you using? What make/brand of drives do you have? And what version of PowerDVD are you using?

    You may well need DVD-RAM drivers which can be obtained from here:
    http://kenny.storageinfo.co.kr/
     
  4. cdb

    cdb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47
    It's windows XP, It's one of the early ram (in caddy) drives Matsu****a (Panasonic?) LF-D310

    When I put the ram out of my pc into my new recorder it insisted I had to format it, which I did. My pc can see the recoded files but no program can actually play them.
    Should it have the same file structure as a pre recorded dvd? ie audio_ts and video_ts (I think)

    It's power DVD 5.

    Also when I played a finalised dvd-r the bottom 10mm or so of the picture was offest like when playing a worn video tape. :eek:
     
  5. cdb

    cdb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47
    Any ideas?
     
  6. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,700
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,578
    No - it should be as you described in your first post. You need to use a VR compatible programme to use the recordings. If you want to convert DVD-RAM to DVD-R then have a look at the link in my signature. If you just want to play them on your PC then you will need a VR capable programme such as WinDVD 4 or above. I'm not sure whether PowerDVD 5 supports VR - certainly the latest versions do.
     
  7. joegib

    joegib
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +10
    Power DVD 5 does support VR.
     
  8. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,700
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,578
    Sounds like it could be a driver issue then - did you download and install the DVD-RAM drivers I linked to?
     
  9. cdb

    cdb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47
    Do you mean the A128 firmware (I think) update for the DVD ram drive? If so, I've downloaded it, but not installed it as I haven't a clue how to do it........yet.
     
  10. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,700
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,578
    No - I wouldn't worry about the firmware update yet - the DVD-RAM driver is somewhere on that site but you may find it easier to get it from this one. Don't worry that your drive isn't listed - the file is just a generic driver. Naturally virus check any file you download from the internet!
     
  11. cdb

    cdb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47
    Right, I've updated the firmware and the dvd ram driver and I get the following, which I assume is the same as before.

     
  12. cdb

    cdb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47
    Sorted! Uninstalled and Re installed Power DVD5 :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...