Can't pause/rewind/record Olympics.

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by tvbox, Aug 4, 2012.

  1. tvbox

    tvbox
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,716
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Prestwich, Manchester
    Ratings:
    +813
    Sky have made a whole big deal over their '24 new HD channels' for the olympics yet i can't even get all the full features of Sky+! :mad:.

    What is going on? I have tried all the obvious but still can't record any of the extra channels- I can only record 143/169/101, etc.

    Is this because of Sky/Murdoch/BBC :censored: rights issues, or was it a decision from the stupid IOC jobsworths?

    Disappointed. What if it's the heat of the moment and you're interrupted? You think that Sky+ would help, but for some dumb and strange reason, the brainless jobsworths at Sky/BBC/IOC have decided not to let you rewind, pause or record! And this is where you need those functions most!


    :mad::mad::mad::thumbsdow:thumbsdow:thumbsdow

    EDIT: Forgot to post the error- it says something along the lines of 'Record is not availiable through interactive application, press SKY to exit".

    Pressing sky takes me out of the sport and back to 143?!
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2012
  2. x3j3UKN

    x3j3UKN
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +642
    Mine works fine ??
     
  3. tvbox

    tvbox
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,716
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Prestwich, Manchester
    Ratings:
    +813
    Ah, just read BBC's website and in the small print it says

    Now they tell me. Why didn't they make this clearer instead of making people use the crippled 'interactive' thing?


    :facepalm:
     
  4. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    It would never have occurred to me to use anything other than the channels as they're listed on the EPG.
    On the other hand it never occurs to me to watch any of the channels at all.:D
     
  5. Miss Chief

    Miss Chief
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    7,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,187
    Never mind, just seen you've found the solution.
     
  6. x3j3UKN

    x3j3UKN
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +642
    Do people really use the red button??
     
  7. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,600
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,335
    Yes - the "mini EPG" by sport on that option makes it a lot easier to find a particular sport than trawling through the whole 24 channels on the full EPG. It takes you straight to the correct video stream and will return straight back to the mini guide when you press backup after watching a programme. Obviously no good for recording or if you want to use "live pause" etc but far easier navigation for straight viewing.

    It is also the only way to view the channels for those who do not have the channels on their EPG (due to regionalisation and rights issues) such as ROI subscribers or those without a viewing card.
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2012
  8. aerofly2

    aerofly2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    I've only just realised that the "red" button Olympic channels are also HD. I just assumed they would be SD as per the normal "red" button.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2012

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice