1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't get subwoofer to work!

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by Deeez Nuuutz, Oct 19, 2005.

  1. Deeez Nuuutz

    Deeez Nuuutz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,003
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +801
    Hi,

    My setup:

    Yamaha RX-V4600
    M&K K17 Front & Center
    M&K K4 Left & Right Surrounds
    M&K VX760 Sub

    I just got my first system and have hooked everything up and done a quick auto setup. But for some reason i can't get anything out my sub. Its connected via 1 RCA to the amp as instructed in the manual. I have tried all sorts of dvd's with different sound modes DTS, DD 5.1, Prologic etc.. and also cd's in stereo. But still nothing comes out, have i missed something?
    At first i had set everything to what i was told by the Audio-T manager which was; on the back of the sub: set Low Pass Filter to Bypass and Bass Level to Reference Level
    1 thing i did notice is when it first done the auto setup and it done its test with white noise to each speaker, i didn't hear the sub at all through this test. Am i supposed to?
    I have been through the manuals for both the sub and the amp and have done a manual setup since and i must say that all the speaker distances were pretty much spot on. I had to change the Bass Out to SWFR as it was set to Front speakers but thats all i could see wrong. Bass Cross Over is set to 80Hz (i have tried setting this to 200Hz but it still made no difference). SWFR Phase is set to normal. All speakers Front, Center and Surround are set to small.

    Is there anything i've missed or not done?

    I'm dying to get it working properly but i really am at a loss! :lease:

    Best regards,

    Tony
     
  2. Deeez Nuuutz

    Deeez Nuuutz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,003
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +801
    Its okay!! It was me being a ****!! lol

    I had the sub plugged into the wrong jack, In instead of out - Doh!!

    Real Happy now!!
     
  3. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +599
    lol....an easy mistaka to maka.....
     
  4. AngelEyes

    AngelEyes
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    10,105
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Detached from reality
    Ratings:
    +1,456
    If I had a penny for the number of threads like this I have started, only to have the answer come into my head as I am reading it back... :rotfl:

    PS. Nice 1st System :thumbsup:
     
  5. l34052

    l34052
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Silence, i kill you!!
    Ratings:
    +159
    Soldier mate, my new sub arrived today and i did the EXACT same thing as you :oops: Sorted it now and we're away, blown away :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

    one day all of us muppets will rise up and take over the world.... :smashin:
     
  6. Deeez Nuuutz

    Deeez Nuuutz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,003
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +801
    Thanks for the reply guys... and the confidence boost! lol

    Loving it!

    But really tempted to get a surround back for 6.1 ! Dying to watch LOTR in DTS (its 6.1 DTS only) Doh!

    Best Regards,
     
  7. pragmatic

    pragmatic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    12,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,678
    Dont worry about on DTS front it'll down mix to 5.1 and the rear centre will be shared between the left and right rears. Everyone makes mistakes like these, the worst ones are usualy with first av recievers, you see so many sockets and haven't got a clue if you've pluged it in right.
     
  8. Deeez Nuuutz

    Deeez Nuuutz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,003
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +801
    huh? Are you saying that if i select DTS ES 6.1 Surround Sound in the LOTR setup menu, it will downmix to DTS 5.1 ? Ir so, is there a noticable difference between the 6.1 and 5.1 and/or between Downmixed DTS 5.1 and DTS 5.1?

    Btw, could someone please tell me what the EX in Dolby Digital EX 5.1 means?

    Many thanks for your knowledge,

    Best regards,

    Tony
     
  9. AngelEyes

    AngelEyes
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    10,105
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Detached from reality
    Ratings:
    +1,456
    I think it means a 'simulated' extra rear channel as apposed to the discrete rear channel in DTS ES 6.1
     

Share This Page

Loading...