Can't get Soundbar to work with TV

Discussion in 'Soundbars, Soundplates & Soundbases' started by trogg1963, May 1, 2016.

  1. trogg1963

    trogg1963
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    Just bought a Philips HTL5140 Soundbar but I can't get it to work with my Panasonic TV, (TX-39a300b)
    I'm beginning to think that they are not compatible with each other although the TV is only 16 months old.

    Any idea's ?

    Thanks
     
  2. Clem_Dye

    Clem_Dye
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +413
    More details required,. How are you connecting the devices, what settings have you tried?

    Clem
     
  3. trogg1963

    trogg1963
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have tried as per instructions and all different settings on the TV, however after doing much searching it appears that the TV isn't compatible with the soundbar, even though the box it says 'for any TV'.
    The soundbar requires HDMI ARC but the TV doesn't support this (has 2 HDMI) another way it could be done is via Optical port but again the TV doesn't have this port.
    The only other way that I can think of is via Bluetooth, the TV doesn't have this but I can plug one into one of the USB ports, however I very much doubt this would work.
    While doing my searching I found a forum with someone who had the same problem as me (different TV and soundbar) an analogue to digital converter was mentioned (available from CPC) but I never found out if this actually worked.
    So, what do you think ? Do I give the above a try or am I stuffed ?
     
  4. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,730
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,398
    The soundbar has a 3.5mm stereo minijack input and your TV's headphone output is a 3.5mm stereo minijack.
    Simply connect the two with a 3.5mm stereo minijack to 3.5mm stereo minijack lead...sorted.
    Adjust the volume within the TV's headphone level in the sound menu.
     
  5. FaxFan2002

    FaxFan2002
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,455
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +167
  6. trogg1963

    trogg1963
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for your replies,
    Saw JayCee's post yesterday and shot down to Maplin.... £7.99 later and it's all up and running :)

    I blame the Wife who insisted we read the instructions which only gave the options of HDMIarc and optical which meant several hours of trying to adjust the settings on the TV and Soundbar.... I'm never going the bother with instructions again :(
    JayCee's answer was obvious ....once I was told :)

    And thank you FaxFan2002 for your answer and link, another option if I need it in the future.
     
  7. FaxFan2002

    FaxFan2002
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,455
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +167
    The coaxial / optical will output 5.1DD as well rather than plain old stereo but since the sound bar is only 2.1 it really doesn't matter which one you use :)
     
  8. trogg1963

    trogg1963
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's good to know FaxFan, when we redecorate the lounge we're going to fit 5.1 and put the soundbar in the conservatory.

    Now I know we can do that with your information :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice