1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't get S-Video input on Panasonic TH42PV500

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by lasitha, Jun 12, 2005.

  1. lasitha

    lasitha
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +3
    When I try to connect my DVD player using a S-Video -> SCART cable, I get a very distorted, almost black & white picture (works fine when using a composite -> SCART cable). I tried using AV1, AV2 and AV4 inputs. I then tried with a S-Video-> S-Video cable on AV3 and got no picture at all. Then I tried connecting my camcorder using a S-Video-> S-Video cable on AV3. Again no picture at all.

    Any ideas why this is?. Am I using a wrong kind of S-Video cable?.

    Thanks for any info/suggestions.

    Lasitha
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Have you set the scart to output S-video? They don't do it by default. And is there a good reason why you want to? RGB would be better, and it's only a press of a button and a fully wired scart away.
     
  3. lasitha

    lasitha
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +3
    How do I set the Scart to output S-video?.

    My DVD player only has two outputs (S-Video and componet). The S-Video output worked fine on an old Sony CRT TV.
     
  4. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    have you set the scart input to s video as opposed to composite/rgb (on the tv)
     
  5. lasitha

    lasitha
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +3
    Sorry, my fault. I didn't realise that you have to press the AV<x> button twice to get the S-Video input.

    Works perfectly now.

    Thanks

    Lasitha
     
  6. Member 55145

    Member 55145
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,489
    umm if your dvd player has component hook it up via that, it will be ALOT better, oh unless you have something already taking up component?
     
  7. lasitha

    lasitha
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +3
    No component output, only composite and s-video.
     

Share This Page

Loading...