1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't get 1280*720 on Hitachi plasma or LCD - projector is fine!!!

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by townsejl, Feb 1, 2005.

  1. townsejl

    townsejl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys,

    I wonder if anyone can help. I've set up a Media centre PC with an NVIDIA FX5700LE graphics card.

    When i connect this to my Hitachi PJ-TX100 projector, i get an option on the display properties to set the device as a HDTV.

    When i try to do the same with the 42PD5200 or lcd, i don't get any such option and when i set the pc resolution to be 1280*720, i get an image which is the right height, but is too wide for the screen - ie when i move the cursor to the right hand side, the whole screen scrolls across.

    Although the plasma/lcd and projector have slightly different resolutions, i would've still thought the graphics drivers would have enabled me to set any of them as hdtv's.

    Thanks for any advice/info you can offer with this.

    Jamie.
     
  2. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    How are you connecting, VGA or DVI? Using DVI it depends on whether Windows correctly identifies the display's capabilities. In either case, if the nVidia drivers don't workthen you'll probably need to use Powerstrip to force them to do so.
     
  3. Whitey1977

    Whitey1977
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    472
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +41
    I have the same problem with my hitachi plasma.

    Using a Radeon 9600 via VGA i can get 1366 X 768 @75Hz but what I really want is 1280 x 720 via DVI. In the mannual it states that the max resolution via DVI from a PC is 1024 X 768 but 1280 X 720 from a set-top box. How can it tell the difference?

    Is there a way to simulate a 720P set-top box ouput from a PC?

    Whitey
     
  4. betamac

    betamac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem on My Panasonic PWD6

    I can get it to display the native res which i use for gaming and DVD Watching

    But cant get it to display 1280x720 for Windows use so i just put up with 1280x768 which is pretty good to be onest but would be nice to try 1280x720

    This is via DVI
     
  5. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    It can't tell the difference, I'm presuming that's just sloppy wording and means the highest standard PC resolution .. as I said above, Powerstrip is what you need to obtain non-standard resolutions if the graphics Control Panel doesn't list it.
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,310
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,217
    Hitachi plasmas dont accept 720p (1280x720) because they are ALIS panels.........
    and PC apps wont look good on a PWD6 852x480 res either let the panel downscale and dont stress too much, Refresh is also very important 50Hz and 75 Hz are good for PAL video
     
  7. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    That's what I believed about Hitachis, but how do you explain the quote Whitey made from the manual about the set-top box?
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,310
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,217
    perhaps it wil via DVi, but i was under the impression it wouldn't............is the hitachi in question one with or without Media box?
     
  9. betamac

    betamac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I let the Plasma downscale for Windows Use (1280x768)

    But DVDs and games look much better when fed the plasmas native res (they look superb)

    I do struggle to get the panny to accept difference refresh rates though
     
  10. Whitey1977

    Whitey1977
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    472
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +41
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,310
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,217
    Page 27-28
    With Digital RGB signal input (RGB1 input)
    No.
    Signal mode
    Horizontal frequency
    (kHz)
    Dot clock frequency
    (MHz) Remarks
    Signal Name Resolution Vertical frequency
    (Hz)
    1
    VGA
    640 X 400 70.08 31.47 25.18
    2 640 X 480 59.94 31.47 25.18
    3
    W-VGA
    864 X 480 60.00 31.02 33.75
    4 864 X 480 59.94 31.47 34.24 WVGA type : On
    5
    VESA
    640 X 480 72.81 37.86 31.50
    6 640 X 480 75.00 37.50 31.50
    7 640 X 480 85.01 43.27 36.00
    8 800 X 600 56.25 35.16 36.00
    9 800 X 600 60.32 37.88 40.00
    10 800 X 600 72.19 48.08 50.00
    11 800 X 600 75.00 46.88 49.50
    12 800 X 600 85.06 53.67 56.25
    13 1024 X 768 60.00 48.36 65.00
    14 1024 X 768 70.07 56.48 75.00
    15 1024 X 768 75.03 60.02 78.75

    not great but thats the digital RGB1 input DVi input list note 1280x720 not supported
    1280x768 is supported on analogue RGB2 input

    on page 42 yes but need DVi-STB conidition and only at 60Hz
    720p/60 1280 X 720 60.00 45.00 74.25 EIA-861
     
  12. townsejl

    townsejl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm connecting over DVI, not VGA. The issue is that my graphics card/drivers will let me set the resolution to 1280*720, but the plasma doesn't seem to rescale this down.

    Could anyone give powerstrip a try setting it to 1280*720 @ 60Hz with the DVI input option in the plasma menus set to DVI-STB and see if that works.

    Cheers.
     
  13. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    I think you will find a 1280x720p @ 60Hz in the pre-set list Powerstrip comes with.
     
  14. Whitey1977

    Whitey1977
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    472
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +41
    I have tried all the pre-sets in powerstrip with the tv set to DVI-stb but I can't get a picture at all.

    All I can think of is that there maybe a flag or simular that tells the TV that its connected to a STB

    Whitey
     
  15. hoyin

    hoyin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried downloading the forceware drivers from nVidia?

    I use them and they let you set custom resolutions and timings without the use of Powerstrip.

    My LCD is 1368x768

    My geforce card did not recognise that .. but I created a custom setting using the forceware drivers and it works fine now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...