Can't connect PS3 using ADSL modem - help please!

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by Mikeybloo, May 6, 2007.

1. Mikeybloo

Mikeybloo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +32
    Total noob to all this sort of thing, posted last week about how best to connect my PS3 to Internet, concluded I needed to get an ADSL ethernet modem and Mickus gave me guidance on how to set the connection settings in the PS3. I've since got a Linksys AM200 modem and connected it all up, followed the advice to input my PPPoE stuff etc, but when I press Test Connection, it can't get an IP address, I keep getting a timed out message. All my green lights are on on my modem which I think indicate I've got a good ethernet and DSL connection?

Have also tried using the modem with my PC. I currently connect using a USB Speedtouch modem to Wanadoo/Orange broadband. I disconnect that, and plug the AM200 into an ethernet port on my PC (at least i think it is an ethernet port, there are 2 of them and the ethernet cable fits them perfectly, but I've no idea how to check whats connected to a port using control panel). Again, I get all my green lights on, indicating good ethernet, DSL and Internet connection, but I don't know how to get my browser (IE) to use this modem to connect to the net. Do I need to set up a new Internet Connection? But I can't see the new ethernet modem as an option to choose.

With the modem there were some instructions about configuring the modem (if using a PC) but it seems to say you need an internet connection before you can configure it and I can't get a connection so how do I configure it.

Sorry, this is getting way too long, God, all I want to do is get my PS3 connected but i'm way out of my depth with this modem stuff. Anyone got any ideas, based on this useless explanation of my problem.

2. Tony Hoyle

Tony Hoyle

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +231