1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Canon XM2/GL2 vs XL1S

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by stoutd, Nov 3, 2002.

1. stoutd

stoutd

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new to these forums - I've performed a search and can't find the answer so if this question has been addressed before, please advise me.

I am looking at a semi-pro digital camcorder. I like the XM2/GL2 and the XL1S. The latter is much dearer. It strikes me that the XM2/GL2 is as good as and maybe better in some areas than the XL1S so am puzzled why the XL1S is so much more expensive.

I am an experienced stills photographer and have a collection of pro-grade (L) canon lenses that, in theory, would work on the XL1S but I think that because of focal length issues, this would not be useful unless I was into nature photography and plan to film from very great distances. The XM2/GL2 has an LCD screen that might be more appropriate to use in some circumstances.

I would probably use the camera 70% of the time on a tripod.

So, given the above information, why should I go for the XL1S over and above the XM2/GL2 if I am not too bothered about lens interchangability?

Thanks

David

2. stoutd

stoutd

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's been suggested to me that Sony make a better digital camcorder than the Canon ones I'vbe mentioned here but they too have a similar pairing in the VX2000 and the PD150. Is a PD150 worth the extra money? It seems a high price to pay for a different colour and XLR connectors with a bigger mic.

Am I missing something?

Thanks

David

3. Lex

Lex

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi stoutd,

I have used both the Sony VX2000 and the Canon XL1 (although only for one weekends filming).