1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Canon - transferring from tape to PC

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by davynub, Jun 21, 2005.

1. davynub

davynub
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new to all this DV camera stuff, but recently purchased a Canon MV830i DV camera. I've filled 2 tapes worth of holiday,etc and have now come to put it onto my PC, then onto DVD. The software which I got with the camcorder is crap, basically dealing with transferring stills. I bought a DV cable at the weekend thinking that would solve the problem. To an extent it does. It makes the PC recognise the camcorder and gives me an option of using Windows Movie Maker to capture/edit/burn then file. I've done this, but the quality is crap, when replayed on PC, and will not replay at all on my DVD player, as it is a WMV file (I think). When I replay the recording on TV through the camcorder the quality is very good. I contacted Canon UK, who said that they do not have any software of their own to use, but recommended Pinnacle. Am I missing something very simple ? Help is appreciated...

2. Brian110507

Brian110507

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    No - moviemaker is a very good basic programme and you can find out a great deal about how to use it at http://www.papajohn.org but unfortunately it is not able to burn a DVD that you can view in a DVD player on your TV.

Moviemaker will create a video file that you can use in Roxio or Nero or any other disc burning programme.

You do really need a capture / editing/ disc burning programme like Pinnacle Studio or Ulead VideoStudio

3. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,393