Canon Software

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by Analogue, Apr 23, 2007.

1. Analogue

Analogue

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whilst I have done a lot of camcorder -edit- write to DVD work I am a complete novice when it comes to digital cameras.
    I have recently got a Canon Ixus 800is with which I am delighted but now want to copy around 250 images from the SD card to a CD-R that I can use to view my images on my PC or on the TV via the DVD player, and obviously select some for printing enhancing etc. whilst I re-use the SD in my camera

So insert my SD card into the slot on my PC and a formatted blank CD-R into my DVD- Rewriter. Canon Camera window opens and displays thumbnails of my images with the correct orientation. I select all and go to download and browse to the drive with the CD-R and select. I then get error message that says drive is CD-ROM select another folder! DVD-identifier says its a RW drive and a R disc.

What am I doing wrong?

I tried another disc same problem.
    I then used Explorer to copy from SD to CD no problem but images are not corrected for orientation when shown on PC or TV.

2. Yandros

Yandros

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +528
    Firstly, you should copy the files to a folder on your hard disk. I've never tried copying straight from card to cd, but I'd not recommend it. While the images are on your PC, you can view them in Windows Picture and Fax Viewer. This also allows you to rotate the images. You can then write them to a CD.

The step after that is to start editing them it programs like Photoshop Elements...and then we've lured you to the Dark Side...post processing!

3. Analogue

Analogue

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0