Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM or EF 24-70mm f2.8 L USM

Zoomo

Standard Member
Hi

I could do with some advice... I have owned a 400D plus standard 18-55 lense kit for about 6 months ( I bought it for my mum some time ago and "borrowed" it :thumbsup:) and am trying to decide on an upgrade. I would value anyone's thoughts on this. Options I'm considering are;

1) New EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM
2) New EF 24-70mm f2.8 L USM (with a view I can upgrade to a full frame body sometime in the future)
3) Dive straight in to a 5D Mk II with New EF 24-70mm f2.8 L USM
4) Maybe a nice prime I can keep and will mount on any body.

I take cost into consideration but let's say cost isn't a massive deciding factor. I'm a medium to good photographer, mostly I take landscapes, little HDR, I'd like to do more portraits, street photography, maybe do events one day.

Thanks in advance for any ideas.

senu

Distinguished Member
All the options will give you far better than you have now but the 5dm2 with the lens is really a big move from the 400D even withthe 17-55 ( which is awesome on it)
In fact you will get more from the 17-55 with a better body 40D/50D
I fear the 24mm on a 400D may be a bit long although it is clearly a great lens
If you can afford it move on to the 5DMk2 and dont buy any more EF-S lenses

senu

Distinguished Member
Dont forget to check out the Tamron 17-50 !!
That would be a fairly cheap but very decent upgrade on your 400D

I have owned the 17-55 ( Canon) and it is better than the Tamron but not at all by anything like the cost difference. I think the Tamrom is seriuos VFM
The main Tamron issues are noisy AF and slightly less good build quality. Optics, It is way better than the Canon kit lens and not at all poor compared to the 17-55 f2.8

Zoomo

Standard Member
In fact you will get more from the 17-55 with a better body 40D/50D